Bibliography

Compiled by Ailbhe MacShamhráin, Nora White & Marie Fingleton

Contents

Primary Sources

(1) Annals

Annals of Ulster, ed. WM Hennessy & B MacCarthy. 4 vols. Dublin, 1887–1901.

Annals of Ulster to AD 1131. ed. Seán MacAirt & Gearóid MacNiocaill. Dublin, 1984.

Annals of Inisfallen, ed. Seán MacAirt. Dublin, 1944

Annals of Tigernach, ed. W. Stokes. Revue Celtique, 16–18 (1895–7).

Annals of the Four Masters, ed. John O’Donovan. 7 vols. Dublin, 1851.

Annals of Clonmacnois by Conall Mageoghegan, ed. D. Murphy. Dublin, 1896.

Chronicon Scotorum, ed. WM Hennessy. London, 1866.

Fragmentary Annals of Ireland, ed. Joan N. Radner. Dublin, 1978.

Miscellaneous Irish Annals, ed. S. Ó hInnse. Dublin, 1947.

Annals of Connacht, ed. AM Freeman. Dublin, 1944.

Annals of Loch Cé, 2 vols., ed. WM Hennessy. London, 1877.

Annals of Roscrea, ed. D. Gleeson & Seán MacAirt, PRIA, 59C (1958), 138–80.

Chronicle of Flattisbury or ‘Grace’s Annals’. ed. Richard Butler. Miscellany of the Irish Archaeological Society. Dublin, 1842.

(Electronic texts of all the above Irish annals are available on the Website of the CELT Project, NUI Cork)

(2) Hagiography

(a) Patrician, Brigidine and Columban Lives

L. Bieler (ed.), The Patrician Texts in the Book of Armagh. Dublin, 1979.

Bethu Pátraic, ed. Kathleeen Mulchrone. Dublin & London, 1939.

The Tripartite Life of St. Patrick. 2 vols. ed. Whitley Stokes. Rolls Series. London, 1887.

Two lives of St. Patrick: Vita Secunda and Vita Quarta. trans. F.J. Byrne & P. Francis. JRSAI, 124 (1994), 5–117.

Three Middle-Irish homilies on the lives of saints Patrick, Brigit and Columba. ed. Whitley Stokes. Calcutta, 1877.

Cogitosus, Life of St Brigit, trans. S. Connolly & J-M Picard, JRSAI, 117 (1987), 5–27.

Vita Prima Sanctae Brigitae, trans. S. Connolly, JRSAI, 119 (1989), 5–49.

Bethu Brigte. ed. Donncha Ó hAodha. Dublin, 1978.

Adomnán’s Life of St. Columba. ed. A.O. Anderson & M.O. Anderson. Edinburgh & London, 1961.

Adomnán of Iona: Life of St. Columba. trans. Richard Sharpe. Harmondsworth, 1995.

Manus O’Donnell’s Life of Colum Cille. ed. Brian Lacey. Dublin, 1998.

Betha Colaim Chille, ed. and trans. (pp 217–88), Máire Herbert, Iona, Kells and Derry. Oxford, 1988.

(b) Other ‘Single’ Lives

Betha Adamnáin, ed. Máire Herbert & Pádraig Ó Riain. London, 1988.

Betha Barra: St Finbarr of Cork: the complete Life. ed. Pádraig Ó Riain. London, 1994.

The Life of Colmán of Lynn: Betha Colmáin Lainne. trans Kuno Meyer, ed. Leo Daly. Dublin, 1999.

Betha Cholmáin maic Luacháin, ed. Kuno Meyer. London, 1911.

Betha Lasrach: The Life of S. Lasair, ed. L. Gwynn. Ériu, 5 (1911), 73–103.

Betha Meic Creiche [Life of Mac Creiche], 7–52, in Charles Plummer ed. Miscellanea Hagiographica Hibernica. Brussels, 1925

Betha Molaga. ed. J.G. O'Keeffe, in Irish Texts, 3 (1931), 11–22.

Life of St. Mo-Nenna by Conchobranus, ed. Ulster Society for Medieval Latin Studies. Seanchas Ardmhacha, 9 (1979–80).

(c) Collections of Irish Saints’ Lives

W.W. Heist (ed.), Vitae Sanctorum Hiberniae ex codice olim Salmanticensi nunc Bruxellensi. Subsidia Hagiographica xxviii., Brussels, 1965.

Charles Plummer (ed.), Vitae Sanctorum Hiberniae. 2 vols. Oxford, 1910.

Charles Plummer (ed.), Bethada Náem nÉrenn. 2 vols. Oxford, 1922.

Charles Plummer (ed.), Miscellanea Hagiographica Hibernica. Subsidia Hagiographica, XV. Brussels, 1910.

Whitley Stokes (ed.), Lives of the saints from the Book of Lismore. Anecdota Oxoniensa, V. Oxford, 1890.

Acta Sanctorum … a Sociis Bolladianis. Antwerp & Brussels, 1643 -. Annalecta Bollandiana, I (1882 -).

John Colgan, Acta Sanctorum Hiberniae. Louvain, 1645.

John Colgan, Triadis Thaumaturga. Louvain, 1647.

(d) Martyrologies

Martyrology of Tallaght, ed. RI Best & HJ Jackson. London, 1931.

Martyrology of Óengus: Félire Óengusso Céli Dé. ed. Whitley Stokes, London, 1905.

Martyrology of Ua Gormáin, ed. Whitley Stokes, London, 1895.

Martyrology of Donegal, ed. J. O’Donovan, JH Todd & W. Reeves. Dublin, 1864.

Martyrology and Book of Obits of Christ Church Dublin, ed. JC Crostwaithe. Dublin, 1846.

(e) Hymnology

J.H. Bernard & R. Atkinson (eds.), The Irish Liber Hymnorum. 2 vols. London, 1898.

Liam Breatnach ed. ‘An edition of Amra Senáin’, 7–32, in D. Ó Corráin, L. Breatnach & K. McCone (eds.), Saints, sages and storytellers: Celtic Studies in honour of Professor James Carney. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1989.

(2B) Poetry and stories

Caithréim Thoirdhealbhaigh. ed. and trans. Standish Hayes O’Grady. 2 vols. London: Irish texts Society, 1929.

Gerard Murphy (ed.), ‘A Poem in Praise of Aodh Úa Foirréidh, Bishop of Armagh (1032–1056)’, 140–164, in S. O’Brien (ed.), Measgra i gCuimhne Mhichíl Uí Chléirigh. Dublin: Three Candles, 1944.

Leabhar Branach: The Book of the O’Byrnes. ed. Seán Mac Airt. Dublin: DIAS, 1944.

‘The Tale of Conall Corc from Laud 610’. ed. Kuno Meyer. Anecdota from Irish Manuscripts, 3 (1910).

(3) Genealogies and lists

(a) Manuscripts and facsimiles

Bodelian MS Laud 610 facsimile, image.ox.ac.uk

Book of Ballymote (late 14th- early 15thC). RIA Ms 23 P 12.

Book of Fermoy (15thC). RIA Ms 23 E 29.

Book of Lecan. Collotype facsimile. ed. Kathleen Mulchrone. Dublin, 1937.

Book of Lismore (15thC). Collotype facsimile. ed. R.A.S. Macalister. Dublin, 1950.

Book of Uí Maine (late 14thC). Collotype facsimile. ed. R.A.S. Macalister. Dublin, 1941.

Leabhar Breac. Lithographic facsimile by Joseph O’Longan. ed. J.T. Gilbert. Dublin, 1876.

Lebor na hUidre: Book of the Dun Cow (12thC) . Lithographic facsimile by Joseph O’Longan. Dublin, 1876.

Rawlinson B.502 (12thC). facsimile. ed. Kuno Meyer. Oxford, 1909.

Stowe Ms C.1.2 (Irish Ms XIX)

Yellow Book of Lecan (late 14thC). TCD MS 1318.

(b) Published editions

The Book of Leinster, vols. 1–5, ed. R.I. Best, O. Bergin & M.A. O’Brien. Dublin, 1954–67.

The Book of Leinster, vol. 6, ed. Anne O’Sullivan. Dublin, 1982.

Corpus Genealogiarum Hiberniae, ed. Michael A. O’Brien. Dublin, 1962.

Corpus Genealogiarum Sanctorum Hiberniae, ed. Pádraig Ó Riain. Dublin, 1985.

Genealogiae Regum et Sanctorum Hiberniae, ed. Paul Walsh. Maynooth, 1918.

Dubhaltach Mac Fhirbhisigh. Leabhar Genealach.The Great Book of Irish Genealogies, ed. Nollaig Ó Muraíle. 5 vols. Dublin: ÉamonDeBurca, 2004.

‘The Laud Genealogies and tribal histories: text from Laud 610, 75a’. ed. Kuno Meyer. Zeitschrift für Celtische Philologie, 8 (1912), 291–308.

(4) Councils

A.W. Haddan & W. Stubbs, Councils and ecclesiastical documents relating to Great Britain and Ireland. 3 vols. Oxford, 1869–78.

D.N. Dumville, Councils and synods of the Gaelic Early and Central Middle Ages. Cambridge, 1997.

A Roll of the Proceedings of King's Council in Ireland for a Portion of the Sixteenth Year of the Reign Richard the Second A.D. 1392–93. ed. James Graves, 1st ed. London: Rolls Series (Longman Trubner etc). 1877.

(5) Law tracts & ecclesiastical rules

Erich Poppe ed. ‘A new edition of the Cáin Éimíne Báin'. Celtica, 18 (1986), 35–52.

E. Gwynn & W. Purton ed. and trans. ‘The Customs of Tallaght’, in ‘The Monastery of Tallaght’, PRIA, 29C (1911), 115–79.

Máirín Ní Dhonnchadha ed. ‘The Lex Innocentium: Adamnán’s law for women, clerics and youths, 697 AD’, 58–69, in Mary O’Dowd and Sabine Wichert (eds.), Chattel, servant or citizen?; womens’ status in church, state and society. Historical Studies, 19. Belfast, 1995.

D.A. Binchy (ed.), Corpus Iuris Hibernici. 6 vols. Dublin, 1978.

(6) Charters, Ecclesiastical Registers and Visitations

Acts of Archbishop Colton in his Metropolitan Visitation of the diocese of Derry, AD 1397, 108–112, in Regula Choluimb Chille. ed. William Reeves. Dublin: Irish Archaeological Society, 1850.

Calendar of Archbishop Alen’s Record. ed. Charles McNeill. Dublin, 1950.

Calendar of Christ Church Deeds. eds. M.J. McEnery & Raymond Refaussé. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Calendar of the Gormanston Register c1175–1397. eds. James Mills; M. J. McEnery. Dublin: RSAI, 1916.

Calendar of Ormond Deeds, 1172–1350.6 vols. ed. Edmund Curtis. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair for Coimisiún Láimhscríbhinní na hÉireann, 1932.

Calendar of Papal Registers relating to Great Britain and Ireland. ed J.A. Twemlow. London: HMSO, 1912.

Calendar of the Register of Primate George Dowdall, 1544, commonly called the "Liber Niger". ed. Laurence P Murray, CLAHJ VI no. 2 (1926), 90–100; VI no. 3 (1927), 147–158; VI no. 4 (1928), 213–228; VII no. 1 (1929), 78–95; VII no. 2 (1930), 258–275.

Crede Mihi. ed. John T. Gilbert. Dublin, 1886.

Chartularies of St. Mary’s Abbey. ed. John T. Gilbert. London, 1884.

‘Descriptio Ecclesiae Kildariensis, et omnium fere ecclesiarum, capellarum, ac locorum sanctorum in tota Diocoesi Kildariensi existentium’. An t-Easpag MacEochagáin 1638. Franciscan MSS, A.31; see E. de hÓir, ‘Blúire Cillsheanchais faoi Fhairche Chill Dara’, Dinnsheanchas, 2 no. 2 (1966), 29–39.

Irish Cartuleries of Llanthony Prima et Secunda, ed. E. St.John Brooks, Dublin, 1953.

Notitiae as Leabhar Cheannanais. ed. Gearóid MacNiocaill. Dublin, 1961.

Pontificia Hibernica: Medieval Papal Chancery Documents concerning Ireland 640–1241. 2 vols, ed. MP Sheehy. Dublin, 1962.

The Register of Milo Sweteman Archbishop of Armagh,1366. eds. Brendan Smith & C.F.McGleenon. Dublin: Coimisiún Láimhscríbhinní na hÉireann, 1996.

The Register Of Nicholas Fleming, Archbishop Of Armagh 1404–1416. ed. Brendan Smith. Dublin: Coimisiún Láimhscríbhinní na hÉireann, 2003.

The Register of the Abbey of St. Thomas, Dublin, ed. John T. Gilbert. Dublin, 1889.

The Register Of The Priory Of The Blessed Virgin Mary At Tristernagh. ed M. V. Clarke. Dublin: Coimisiún Láimhscríbhinní Na hÉireann, 1941.

The Register of Muckamore – see James Ware, De Hibernia et Antiquitatibus ejus. London: 1654.

The Registry of Clonmacnois, ed. John O’Donovan. Jnl. Kilkenny & SE Ireland Archaeological Society, 1 (1856–7), 444–60.

Registrum De Kilmainham: Register Of Chapter Acts Of The Hospital Of Saint John Of Jerusalem In Ireland 1326–1339. ed. Charles McNeill. Dublin: Coimisiún Láimhscríbhinní Na hÉireann, 1932.

Registrum Prioratus Omnium Sanctorum Iuxta Dublin. ed. Richard Butler. Dublin, 1845.

‘The Reportorium Viride of John Alen, archbishop of Dublin’, 1533.ed. Newport B. White. Analecta Hibernica, 10 (1941), 173–222.

The Black Book of Limerick. ed. with introduction and notes by James MacCaffrey. Dublin : M.H. Gill, 1907.

The Red Book of Ormond from the Fourteenth Century Original.ed. Newport B. White. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1932.

The Red Book of Ossory, by Richard de Ledrede, bishop of Ossory (1317–1360) at St Canice’s Cathedral. See The Lyrics of the Red book of Ossory, ed. Richard Leighton Greene. Oxford: Blackwell for the Society for the Study of Mediaeval Languages and Literature, 1974.

Visitation of Archbishop Richard O’Hedian 1432.

(7) English Crown Records

Calendar of Documents relating to Ireland 1171–1307. ed. H.S. Sweetman & G.F. Handcock. London: Public Records Office, 1875–1886

Calendar of Inquisitions formerly in the Office of the Chief Remembrancer of the Exchequer. ed. Margaret C. Griffiths, Dublin: Irish Manuscripsts Commission, 1991.

Calendar of Justiciary Rolls or Proceedings in the Court of the Justiciary of Ireland I To VII Years of Edward II. eds. Herbert Wood, Albert E. Langman, Margaret C. Griffith. Dublin: Stationery Office.

Calendar of Patent Rolls,1348–1452.Project of G.R. Boynton & University of Iowa Libraries, 2003: http://www.uiowa.edu/~acadtech/patentrolls/

Calendar of the Patent and Close Rolls of Chancery in Ireland...1863ed. James Morrin, Dublin: Alexander Thom, Hodges, Smith & Co. 1917

Calendar of State Papers Ireland, 1571–1574ed. Mary O’Dowd. London: Public Records Office, 2000. Gilbert, J.T. Historic and Municipal Documents of Ireland.(London: 1870).

Patent Rolls of the reign of Henry III. 2 vols. London, 1901–03.

Pipe Roll of Cloyne (Rotulus Pipae Clonensis), eds. Paul McCotter and Kenneth Nicholls. Middleton, 1996.

Ussher, James. Royal Commission 1622 TCD MS 550

(8) Maps, Surveys, Estate papers

Books of Survey and Distribution 1641. 4 vols (Cos Roscommon, Mayo, Galway, Clare). Dublin: Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1949–67.

Civil Survey AD 1654–56. ed. RC Simington. Dublin: Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1931.

Down Survey Maps 1654.

Escheated Counties map 1609 (Cos Armagh, Cavan)

Grand Jury Presentations (Co Wicklow)

Hiberniae Delineatio: atlas of Ireland, 1685 by William Petty. Newcastle upon Tyne: Frank Graham, 1968.

Jobson’s Map 1591 (Co Waterford)

Map of Beare 16thC (O’Brien)

Map of Leix and Offaly 1563

Moll’s Map 1714 (Co Wicklow)

Montgomery Survey 1609 (Co Londonderry)

Nevill’s Map 1760 (Co Wicklow)

Proby Estate Leases (Co Wicklow)

Smyth Documents (Co Wicklow)

(9) Histories (Medieval & Early Modern)

Bede the Venerable. Historia EcclesiasticaGentis Anglorum(Bede's Ecclesiastical History of the English people)eds. Bertram Colgrave and R.A.B. Mynors. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1969.

Collectanea Sacra, ed. Patrick Fleming (Louvain, 1667).

Giraldus Cambrensis. Topographica Hiberniae. ed John O’Meara, 1982, 60

Grose, Francis. The Antiquities of Ireland. London, 1791 but not published till 1796.

The Irish Version of the Historia Brittonum of Nennius. ed. and trans. James Henthorn Todd. Dublin, 1848 (for electronic text see CELT Project, NUI Cork).

Keating, Geoffrey. (Seathrún Céitinn). Foras Feasa ar Éirinn (A Compendium of Wisdom about Ireland), text and translation. vol. I, ed. David Comyn, vols. II & III ed. Patrick S. Dinneen. London: Irish Texts Society, 1902, 1908 (repr. Dublin 1987) (for electronic text see CELT Project, NUI Cork).

Lynch, John. De Praesulibus Hiberniae. ed. John F. O’Doherty. 2 Vols. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 1944.

O’Flaherty, Roderic. (Ruaidhrí Ó Flaithbheartaigh). A chorographical description of West or hIar Connaught written AD 1684. Ed J. Hardiman. Dublin 1846.

O’Flaherty, Roderic. (Ruaidhrí Ó Flaithbheartaigh). Ogygia, seu, Rerum Hibernicarum chronologia ex pervetustis monumentos fideliter inter se collatis eruta, atque è sacris ac prophanis literas primarum orbis gentium tam genealogicis, quam Chronologicis susflaminata præsidiis …. London, 1685.

O'Sullivan Beare, Philip.Historiae Catholicae Iberniae Compendium. Lisbon, 1621. ed. Matthew Kelly. Dublin: John O'Daly, 1850. (text partially translated by Matthew Byrne, Ireland under Elizabeth. Dublin: Sealy, Bryers and Walker, 1903 (for electronic text see CELT Project, NUI Cork).

Ware, James. De Hibernia et Antiquitatibus ejus. London: 1654.

(10) Reference Books

Archdall, Mervyn. Monasticon Hibernicum or A history of the Abbies Priories and Other Religious Houses in Ireland Dublin: Luke White Press, 1786

Dictionary of Irish Biography. eds James McGuire and James Quinn. Cambridge: CUP for Royal Irish Academy, 2009.

General alphabetical index to the townlands and towns, parishes and baronies of Ireland: based on the Census of Ireland for the year 1851. Prepared under the supervision of William Donnelly. Dublin: Alex Thom, 1861 (reprinted Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publishing Co, 1997).

Gwynn, Aubrey & Hadcock, R.N. Medieval religious houses: Ireland. London, 1970.

Historical Dictionary of Gaelic Placenames/Foclóir Stairiúil Áitainmneacha na Gaeilge. ed Pádraig Ó Riain, Diarmaid Ó Murchadha and Kevin Murray. fascicle I: names in A-. London: Irish Texts Society, 2003 (reprinted with addenda and corrigenda 2007).

Historical Dictionary of Gaelic Placenames/Foclóir Stairiúil Áitainmneacha na Gaeilge. ed Pádraig Ó Riain, Diarmaid Ó Murchadha and Kevin Murray. fascicle II: names in B-. London: Irish Texts Society, 2005.

Hogan, Edmond. Onomasticon Goedelicum locorum et tribuum Hiberniae et Scotiae. Dublin, 1910; reprint Dublin 1994 (see now LOCUS Project online text).

Lewis, Samuel. Topographical Dictionary of Ireland. Carlingford, 1837.

Murphy, Denis. (ed.). Triumphalia chronologicia monasterii Sanctae Crucis in Hibernia: de Cisterciensium Hibernorum viris illustribus. Dublin, 1895.

Nolan, William. Sources for local studies. Dublin, 1977.

Ordnance Survey Letters Donegal: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Donegal … collected … 1836. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2000.

Ordnance Survey Letters Meath: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Meath … collected … 1836. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2001.

Ordnance Survey Letters Dublin: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Dublin … collected … 1837. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2001.

Ordnance Survey Letters Down: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Down … collected … 1834. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2001.

Ordnance Survey Letters Kildare: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Kildare …. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2002.

Ordnance Survey Letters Kilkenny: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of … Kilkenny …. ed Michael Herity. Dublin: Four Masters Press, 2003.

Ordnance Survey Letters: letters containing information relative to the antiquities of County Wicklow. eds Chris Corlett & John Medlycott. Dublin: Kestrel Books, 2000.

Parliamentary Gazetteer of Ireland

Theiner, A. (ed.). Vetera monumenta Hibernorum et Scotorum historiam illustrantia quae ex Vaticani, Neapolis ac Florentiae …1216–1547. Rome, 1864.


Secondary sources

Alcock et al 1999: O. Alcock, K. de hÓra and P. Gosling. Archaeological Inventory of County Galway. Vol. 2: North Galway. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 1999.

Aldridge 1969: R.B. Aldridge. ‘Notes on children’s burial grounds in Mayo’, JRSAI, 99 (1969), 83–7.

Andrews 1986: J.H. Andrews. Kildare. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no.1. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1986.

Appleyard 1985: D.S. Appleyard. Green Fields Gone Forever: The Story of the Coolock and Artane Area. Dublin, 1985.

Archdall 1786: Mervyn Archdall. Monasticon Hibernicum or a history of the Abbies Priories and Other Religious Houses in Ireland. Dublin: Luke White Press, 1786

Arthurs 1954: J.B. Arthurs. ‘Sliabh Fuaid’, Bulletin of the Ulster Placename Society, 2 (1954), 34–6.

Arthurs 1957: J.B. Arthurs. ‘The Place-names of County Armagh’, Bulletin of the Ulster Placename Society, 5 (1957), 40–5.

Atkins 1895: Ringrose Atkins. ‘Old Waterford: its history and antiquities’, WAJ,1 (1895), 20–38; 49–66.

Atkinson 1925: E.D. Atkinson. Dromore: an Ulster Diocese. Dundalk, 1925.

Baker 2004: Christine Baker. ‘A lost ecclesiastical site in Fingal: Oldtown, Swords, Co Dublin’. Arch Ire., 18 no. 3 (Autumn 2004), 14–17.

Ball 1902–20: Francis Elrington Ball. History of the Co Dublin. 6 vols. Dublin: Alexander Thom, 1902–20.

Barrington 1999: T.J. Barrington. Discovering Kerry: Its History, Heritage and Topography. Cork: Collins Press, 1999.

Barrow 1979: George Lennox Barrow. The round towers of Ireland: a study and gazetteer. Dublin: Academy Press, 1979.

Barry 1886: James G. Barry. ‘Aran of the saints’, JRSAI,17 (1886), 488–94.

Barry 1978: Terence B. Barry. ‘Three bullaun stones at Kelshamore, Co Wicklow’, JRSAI, 108 (1978), 116.

Begley 1906: J. Begley. The diocese of Limerick. Dublin, 1906.

Beirne 2000: F. Beirne (ed.). The Diocese of Elphin: People, Places and Pilgrimage. Dublin, 2000.

Bhreathnach 1994: Edel Bhreathnach, ‘Killeshin: an Irish monastery surveyed’, CMCS, 27 (Summer 1994), 33–47.

Bhreathnach 1996: Edel Bhreathnach. ‘The documentary evidence for pre-Norman Skreen, Co Meath’. Ríocht na Midhe, 9 no. 2 (1996), 37–45.

Bhreathnach 1999: Edel Bhreathnach, ‘Columban churches in Brega and Leinster: relations with the Norse and the Anglo-Normans’, JRSAI, 129 (1999), 5–18.

Bhreathnach 2004: Edel Bhreathnach. ‘Medieval sub-kingdoms of Brega’, 38–51 in

Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148.

Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Bhreathnach 2005: Edel Bhreathnach. ‘The medieval kingdom of Brega’, 410–22, in Edel Bhreathnach (ed), The kingship and landscape of Tara.

Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

Bigger 1895: F. J. Bigger, 'Prehistoric settlements at Portnafeadog in the parish of Moyrus, Connamara', PRIA,3 (1895), 727–32.

Bigger 1896: F.J. Bigger, 'Cruach Mac Dara, off the coast of Connamara: with a notice of its church, crosses, and antiquities', JRSAI, 26 (1896), 101–12.

Bigger 1901: F.J. Bigger. ‘The Franciscan friary of Killconnell in the county of Galway: its history and its ruins’, JGAHS, 1 (1900–1), 144–67.

Bigger 1902: F.J. Bigger. Miscellanea: ‘Parish of Maghera, in the county of Down’, UJA, 8(1902), 94–5, 198.

Bigger 1903–4: F.J. Bigger, 'Killconnell Abbey', JGHAS, 3 (1903–4), 11–15.

Bigger 1906: F.J. Bigger. ‘The ancient cross of Drumgolan in the County Down’, UJA, 14 (1906), 56–8.

Bigger 1916: F.J. Bigger. ‘Some notes on the churches of Saint Tassach of Raholp and Saint Nicholas of Ardtole, and their surroundings, in the barony of Lecale in Down’, JRSAI, 46 (1916), 121–35.

Bigger & Fennell 1897–8: F.J. Bigger & W.J. Fennell. ‘Culfeightrin Church, Diocese of Connor’, UJA, 4 (1897–8), 178–80.

Bitel 1984: Lisa Bitel. ‘Womens’ donations to the churches in early Ireland’. JRSAI 114 (1984), 5–23.

Bitel 1990: Lisa Bitel. Isle of the Saints: monastic settlement and Christian community in Early Ireland. Ithaca & London: Cornell U.P., 1990.

Bolster 1972: Evelyn Bolster. A History of the Diocese of Cork from Earliest Times to the Reformation. Shannon: Irish Academic Press, 1972.

Bourke 1980: Cormac Bourke. ‘Early Irish hand-bells’, JRSAI, 110 (1980), 52–66.

Bourke 1985: Cormac Bourke. ‘A crozier and bell from Inishmurray and their place in ninth-century Irish archaeology’. PRIA,85C (1985), 145–68.

Bourke 1987: Cormac Bourke. ‘The Doras/Tullyniskan bell’. UJA, 50 (1987), 155–6.

Bourke 1989: Cormac Bourke. ‘On a lost mount from the Cross of Cong’. Arch Ire, 3 no. 1 (Spring 1989), 14–16.

Bourke 1995: Cormac Bourke. ‘Carved stones from Donaghenry and Stewartstown’. The Bell: Jnl of the Stewartstown and distr Local History Soc., 5 (1995), 60–4.

Bourke 1997: Cormac Bourke. Studies in the cult of Saint Columba. Dublin, 1997.

Bourke 2000: Cormac Bourke, ‘The bells of Saints Caillín and Cuana: two twelfth-century cups’, 331–40, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Bradley 1985: John Bradley, 'The medieval towns of Tipperary' in W. Nolan & T. McGrath (eds.), Tipperary: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1985.

Bradley 1989a: John Bradley. Urban archaeological survey of Co. Carlow. Dublin: Office of Public Works, 1989.

Bradley 1989b: John Bradley, et al. Urban archaeology of Waterford City and County. Dublin: Office of Public Works, 1989.

Bradley 2005: John Bradley. ‘Kildare’, 249, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Bradley, Halpin & King 1985: J. Bradley, A. Halpin and H.A. King. Urban archaeological survey, part XIV (i), Cork City. Dublin, 1985.

Brady 1863: W. M. Brady. Clerical and parochial records of Cork, Cloyne and Ross, 3 Vols. Privately published, 1863, 115, 245.

Bray 2005a: Dorothy Ann. ‘Brigit c.452-c.528’, 48–50, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Bray 2005b: Dorothy Ann. ‘Íte (d 570 or 577)’, 235–6, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Bray 2005c: Dorothy Ann. ‘Mo-Ninne (d c.517)’, 336–7, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Breatnach 2005: Caoimhín Breatnach. ‘Rawlinson B 502’, 96, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Breatnach 1986: Liam Breatnach, ‘The ecclesiastical element in the Old Irish legal tract Cáin Fhuithirbe’, Peritia, 5 (1986), 35–50.

Breatnach 1989: Liam Breatnach ed. ‘An edition of Amra Senáin’, 7–32, in D. Ó Corráin, L. Breatnach & K. McCone (eds.), Saints, sages and storytellers: Celtic Studies in honour of Professor James Carney. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1989.

Breen 1981: Thaddeus Breen. ‘A pre-Norman grave-slab at Rathfarnham, Co Dublin’, JRSAI, 111 (1981), 120–23.

Breen 2005: Aidan Breen. ‘Cogitosus fl c.650’, 249, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Breen 2009: Aidan Breen. ‘Assicus’, in James McGuire et al (eds), Dictionary of Irish biography. Cambridge, 2009.

Brindley 1986: Anna Brindley. Archaeological Inventory of Co Monaghan. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1986.

Brindley 1988: Anna Brindley. ‘Early ecclesiastical remains at Selloo and Kilnahalter, Co Monaghan’. UJA, 51 (1988), 49–53.

Brindley & Kilfeather 1993: Anna Brindley & Annaba Kilfeather. Archaeological Inventory of Co Carlow. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1993.

Buchanan & Wilson 1997: R.H. Buchanan & Anthony Wilson. Downpatrick. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, VIII. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1997.

Buckley 1896: Michael J. Buckley. ‘Kilmolash church, near Cappoquin, County Waterford’, WAJ,2 (1896), 212–20.

Buckley 1898: Michael J. Buckley. ‘Ecclesiological gleenings and jottings’, WAJ,4 (1898), 105–9; 142–6.

Buckley 1986: Victor M. Buckley. Archaeological Inventory of Co Louth. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1986.

Byrne 1973: Francis J. Byrne. Irish kings and high-kings. London: Batsford, 1973; new ed. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2002.

Byrne 1980: Francis J. Byrne.‘Derrynavlan: the historical context’, JRSAI, 110 (1980), 116–26.

Byrne 1984: Francis J. Byrne. ‘Heads of Churches to 1200 AD’, 237–63, in T.W. Moody, F.X. Martin & F.J. Byrne (eds.), A New History of Ireland, IX: Maps, Genealogies, Lists. Oxford: OUP, 1984.

Byrne 1984b: Francis J. Byrne. Introduction, pp xi-xxvii, to The Irish Hand, by Timothy O’Neill. Port Laoise: Dolmen Press, 1984.

Byrne 1984c: Francis J. Byrne. ‘A note on Trim and Sletty’, Peritia, 4 (1984), 316–19.

Byrne 1987: Francis J. Byrne. ‘Note on Old Kilcullen’, 127–9 in E. Rynne (ed), Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

Byrne 1994–5: Francis J. Byrne. ‘Dercu: the feminine of moccu’, Éigse, 28 (1994–5), 42–70.

Byrne 2002: Francis J. Byrne. ‘Ut Beda boat: Cuanu’s signature?’, 45–67, in P. Ní Chatháin & M. Richter (eds.), Ireland and Europe in the Early Middle Ages: texts and transmission. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2002.

Byrne 2005: Francis J. Byrne. ‘Church and politics, c.750-c.1100’, 656–79, in Dáibhí Ó Cróinín (ed), A New History of Ireland,I: Prehistoric and Early Ireland. Oxford: OUP, 2005.

Byrne 1912: James Byrne. ‘Glanworth’, JCHAS,18 (1912), 165–75.

Byrne, P 1984: Paul Byrne. ‘The ancestry of St Finnian of Clonard’, Ríocht na Midhe, 7 no. 3 (1984), 29–36.

Byrne 1985: Paul Byrne. ‘The community of Clonard, sixth to twelfth centuries’, Peritia, 4 (1985), 157–73.

Byrnes 2000: Michael Byrnes. ‘The Ard Ciannachta’, 132–3 in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Byrnes 2005: Michael Byrnes. ‘Máel-Ruain (d.792)’, 308–09, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Cahill 1983: Mary Cahill. ‘Excavations at the base of St Patrick’s cross, Cashel’. NMAJ, 25 (1983), 9–18.

Candon 2006: Anthony Candon, 'Power, politics and polygamy: women and marriage in late pre-Norman Ireland', 106–27, in Damian Bracken & Dagmar Ó Riain-Raedel, Ireland and Europe in the twelfth century: reform and renewal. Dublin, 2006.

Carey & Farrelly 1994: H. Carey and J. Farrelly. Urban archaeological survey of Tipperary North Riding, 1994. (Dublin: OPW unpublished report)

Carrigan 1905: William Carrigan. The History and Antiquities of the diocese of Ossory. 4 Vols. Dublin, 1905.

Charles-Edwards 1984: T.M. Charles-Edwards, ‘The church and settlement’, 167–75, in P. Ní Chatháin & M. Richter (eds.), Irland und Europa: die Kirche im Frühmittelalter. Stuttgart: Klett-Cotta, 1984.

Charles-Edwards 1992: T.M. Charles-Edwards, ‘The pastoral role of the church in the Early Irish Laws’, 63–80 in J. Blair & R. Sharpe (eds), Pastoral care before parish. Leicester, 1992

Charles-Edwards 2000: T.M. Charles-Edwards. Early Christian Ireland. Cambridge: University Press, 2000.

Charles-Edwards 2002: Gifford Charles-Edwards, ‘The East Cross inscription from Toureen-Peakaun: some concrete evidence’, JRSAI, 132 (2002), 114–26.

Charles-Edwards 2003: Gifford Charles-Edwards, ‘The East Cross inscription from Toureen-Peakaun: letterform analysis and a suggested reading’. Arch Ire.,17 no.1 (Spring 2003), 13–15.

Chart et al 1940: D. A. Chart, E. Estyn Evans and H.C. Lawlor (eds). A preliminary survey of ancient monuments of Northern Ireland. Belfast: HMSO, 1940.

Claffey 1983: John A. Claffey. History of Moylough-Mountbellewpart 1: from the earliest times to 1601. Tuam, 1983.

Clark 1971: R. S. J. Clark. ‘Notes: Four cross-slabs in County Down graveyards’, UJA, 34 (1971), 108.

Clarke 1977: Howard B. Clarke. ‘The topographical development of Early Medieval Dublin’, JRSAI, 107 (1977), 29–51. Reprinted in H.B. Clarke (ed.), Medieval Dublin, I: The making of a metropolis. Dublin, 1990.

Clarke 2000: Howard B. Clarke. ‘Conversion, church and cathedral: the diocese of Dublin to 1152’, 19–50, in James Kelly & Daire Keogh (eds.), History of the Catholic Diocese of Dublin. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Clarke 2002: Howard B. Clarke. Dublin: Part I, to 1610. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 11. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 2002.

Clarke 2004: Howard B. Clarke. ‘Christian cults and cult centers in Hiberno-Norse Dublin’, 140–58 in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Cleary 1992: R. Cleary, 'Cross inscribed slab from Bilboa Td., near Cappamore, Co. Limerick', Tipperary Hist. Jnl., 4, 1992, 202–5.

Clyne 1984: M. Clyne. ‘Romanesque carvings at Killodiernan, County Tipperary’, NMAJ,26 (1984), 44–53.

Cochrane 1901: R. Cochrane. ‘Proceedings: excursion to county Galway’, JRSAI,31 (1901), 305–40.

Cogan 1862: Anthony Cogan. History of the Diocese of Meath, Dublin, 1862; republ. ed. Alfred P. Smyth, Dublin: Four Courts Press.

Colfer 1991: Billy Colfer. ‘Medieval Wexford’, Journal of the Wexford Historical Society, 13 (1990–91) 4–29.

Colhoun 1970: M.R. Colhoun, ‘The missing stones of Conwal and Cloncha', Donegal Annual, 9 (1970), 241–3.

Collins 1964: A.E.P. Collins. ‘Toberdoney souterrain, Co Down’, UJA, 27 (1964), 129–32.

Comerford 1883–6: Michael Comerford (ed). Collections relating to the dioceses of Kildare and Leighlin. 3 Vols. Dublin, 1883–6.

Condit & Buckley 2007: Tom Condit & Victor Buckley. Faughart, Co Louth: the hill of heroes, saints, battles and boundaries. Archaeolgy Ireland Heritage Guide no. 37. Bray: Wordwell, 2007.

Conlan 1988: P. Conlan. Franciscan Ireland. Mullingar, 1988.

Connell 1998: Paul Connell. ‘Dysart, Co Westmeath’, 113–40, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

Connellan 1943(a): M. Connellan. ‘St Raoilinn of Teampall Raoileann’, JGAHS,20 (1943), 145–50.

Connellan 1943(b): M. Connellan. 'English monastery – Ahascragh parish – Co. Galway', JRSAI 73 (1943b), 15–21.

Conway 1980: W. Conway. Gleann na Maighe Duibhe. Historical notes on parish of Glemamaddy. Galway: Privately published, c.1980.

Conway 1999: Malachy Conway. Director’s first findings from excavations in Cabinteely. Dún Laoghaire: Margaret Gowen & Co, 1999.

Corlett 1993: Chris Corlett. ‘Previously unrecorded cross-slab from Feenune, in the barony of Murrisk, Co Mayo’. JRSAI, 123 (1993), 169–70.

Corlett 1997: Chris Corlett. ‘An early ecclesiastical site at Carrowreagh, near Carrowkennedy, Co Mayo’. Cathair na Mart, 17 (1997).

Corlett 1998: Chris Corlett. ‘Two previously unpublished cross-slabs from Taghshinny, Co Longford’. JRSAI, 128 (1998), 115–18.

Corlett 2000: Corlett, Chris. ‘Gallen cross-slab’, Arch Ire., 14 no.1 (Spring 2000), 15.

Corlett 2002: Chris Corlett. ‘Two recently discovered Rathdown slabs from Taney graveyard, Dundrum, Co Dublin’. JRSAI, 132 (2002), 139–43.

Corlett 2003: Corlett, Chris. ‘Rathdown grave-slabs’, Arch Ire., 17 no.4 (Winter 2003), 26–30.

Corlett 2005: Chris Corlett. ‘Two recently discovered crosses from Co Wicklow’. JRSAI, 135 (2005), 140–44.

Corlett & McGuinness 1994: Chris Corlett & David McGuinness. ‘An unrecorded cross-slab from Kiltiernan, Co Dublin’. JRSAI, 124 (1994), 217–18.

Cooke 1852–3: T.I. Cooke. 'On ancient Irish bells', JRSAI, 2 (1852–3), 47–63.

Cordner 1940: W. S. Cordner. ‘Some old wells in Antrim and Down’, UJA, 3 (1940), 156–61.

Coughlan 2003: T. Coughlan. ‘Excavations at St Peter’s Church, Dublin’, 11–39, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, IV. Dublin: Four Courts Press 2003.

Crawford 1907: Henry S. Crawford. ‘The descriptive list of the Early Irish crosses’, JRSAI, 37Pt 2, (1907), 187–239.

Crawford 1909: Henry S. Crawford. 'Some early monuments in the Glen of Aherlow', with Macalister, 'Notes on the Inscriptions at Kilpeacan', JRSAI, 39 (1909), 59–69.

Crawford 1912: Henry S. Crawford. 'A descriptive list of early cross-slabs and pillars: Ulster', JRSAI,42 (1912), 217–44.

Crawford 1913: Henry S. Crawford. 'A descriptive list of early cross-slabs and pillars: Connacht', JRSAI,43 (1913), 151–67.

Crawford 1916: Henry S. Crawford, 'Supplementary list of early cross-slabs and pillars', JRSAI, 46 (1916), 163–7.

Crawford 1916b: Henry S. Crawford. ‘Carvings in the cloisters at Creevelea Abbey, County Leitrim’ JRSAI, 46 Pt 2, (1916), 177–179.

Crawford 1918: Henry S. Crawford. 'Supplementary list of early Irish crosses', JRSAI, 48 (1918), 174–9.

Crawford 1922: Henry S. Crawford. ‘The sepulchral slab and round tower at Meelick, Co Mayo’, JRSAI, 52 (1922), 179–81.

Crawford 1923: Henry S. Crawford. 'A descriptive list of Irish shrines and reliquaries', JRSAI, 53 (1923), 74–93.

Crawford 1924: Henry S. Crawford. ‘The Round tower and Castle of Timahoe Queen's County’, JRSAI, 54 (1924), 31–45.

Crawford 1925: Henry S. Crawford. ‘Killeshin church and its Romanesque ornament’, JRSAI, 37Pt 2, (1925), 83–94.

Crawford 1926: Henry S. Crawford. Irish carved ornament. Dublin 1926. (Reprinted with additions 1980).

Crawford & Leask 1925: H.S. Crawford and H.G. Leask, 'Killeshin Church and its Romanesque Ornament', JRSAI55 (1925), 83–94.

Cronin 1998: Denis A. Cronin. ‘Ballynahalisk, Co Cork’, 14–42, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

Crothers 1997: Norman Crothers. ‘A re-discovered souterrain at Mallusk Old Graveyard, Co Antrim’. Arch Ire., 11 no. 1 (Spring 1997), 34–5.

Crozier & Rea 1940: I. R. Crozier and L. C. Rea. ‘Bullauns and other Basin-Stones’, UJA, 3 (1940), 111.

Crumlish 1993: Richard Crumlish. ‘The archaeology of Tory Island’. Arch Ire., 7 no. 1 (Spring 1993), 22–5.

Culleton 1999: Edward Culleton. Celtic and Early Christian Wexford. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1999.

Cunningham 1994: George Cunningham. Living Heritage, 11 (1994), 29–30.

Cuppage 1986: Judith Cuppage et al. Archaeological Survey of the Dingle Peninsula: a description of the field antiquities of the Barony of Corca Dhuibhne from the Mesolithic period to the 17thcentury A.D. Ballyferriter, 1986.

Daly 1999: Leo Daly, index and notes to Life of Colmán of Lynn. trans. Kuno Meyer, ed. L. Daly. Dublin: Lilliput Press, 1999.

Davidson 1958: R. C. Davidson. ‘Some crosses in County Down’, UJA, 21 (1958), 89–90.

Davies 1940: Oliver Davies. ITA Survey 1940.

Davies 1941: Oliver Davies ‘Old Churches in County Louth: Baronies of Lower and Upper Dundalk’. CLAHJ, X, 1, (1941), 5–23.

Davies 1942: Oliver Davies. ‘Old Churches in County Louth: Barony of Louth’. CLAHJ, X, 2, (1942), 101–7

Davies 1943: Oliver Davies. ‘Old Churches in County Louth: Barony of Ardee’. CLAHJ, X, 3, (1943), 200–12

Davies 1944: Oliver Davies. ‘Old Churches in County Louth: Barony of Ferrard’. CLAHJ, X, 4, (1944), 277–96

Davies 1945: Oliver Davies. ‘Old Churches in County Louth: Barony of Drogheda’. CLAHJ, XI, 1, (1945), 21–7

Davies 1946: Oliver Davies. ‘Old churches in the parish of Rossinver, Co. Leitrim’, UJA, 2ndseries, 9 (1946), 76–9.

Davies 1948: Oliver Davies. ‘The Churches of County Cavan’, JRSAI,78 (1948), 73–118.

De hÓir 1966: Éamonn De hÓir. ‘Blúire Chillsheanchais faoi Fhairche Chill Dara’, Dinnseanchas, 2 no. 2 (1966), 29–39.

De hÓir 1968: Éamonn De hÓir. ‘As cartlann na logainmneacha: Moone’. Dinnseanchas, 3 no.2 (1968), 55–7.

Delaney 2003: Dominic Delaney. ‘The excavation and conservation of a medieval church at Coolbanagher, Co Laois’. Laois Heritage Society Journal, 1 (2003).

Dennehy 2001: Emer Dennehy. ‘Childrens’ burial ground at Gowlane, Farranfore, Co Kerry’. Arch Ire., 15 no. 1 (Spring 2001), 20–3.

Dennehy & Lynch 2001: Emer Dennehy & Linda Lynch. ‘Unearthed secrets: a clandestine burial ground’. Arch Ire., 15 no. 4 (Winter 2001), 20–3.

De Paor 1955: Liam De Paor ‘A Survey of Sceilg Mhichíl’, JRSAI, 85 (1955), 174–87.

De Paor 1971: Liam De Paor, ‘The aggrandisement of Armagh’, 95–110 in T.D. Williams (ed), Historical Studies, VIII. Papers read before the Irish Conference of Historians, Dublin, 27–30 May 1969. Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 1971.

De Paor 1987: Liam De Paor, ‘The high-crosses of Tech Theille (Tihilly), Kinitty and related sculpture’, 131–58, in Etienne Rynne (ed.), Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

De Paor 1993: Liam De Paor. Saint Patrick’s world: the Christian culture of Ireland’s apostolic age. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1993.

De Paor 1997: Liam De Paor. Inis Cealtra: report on archaeological and other investigations of the monuments on the island. 3 vols. Dublin: by the author, 1997.

De Paor 1998: Liam De Paor. ‘A grave-slab associated with the high-cross at Durrow’, 203–5, in Con Manning (ed), Dublin and beyond the Pale: studies in honour of Patrick Healy. Bray: Wordwell, 1998.

Doherty 1980: Charles Doherty. ‘Exchange and trade in Early Medieval Ireland’, JRSAI, 110 (1980), 67–89.

Doherty 1982: Charles Doherty, ‘Some aspects of hagiography as a source for Irish economic history’, Peritia, 1 (1982), 300–28.

Doherty 1984: Charles Doherty. ‘The basilica in Early Ireland’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 303–15.

Doherty 1985: Charles Doherty, ‘The monastic town in Early Medieval Ireland’, 45–75, in H.B. Clarke & A. Simms (eds), The comparative history of urban origins in non-Roman Europe. BAR International Series 255. Oxford: BAR, 1985.

Doherty 1991: Charles Doherty, ‘The cult of St Patrick and the politics of Armagh in the Seventh Century’, 53–94 in J-M Picard (ed), Ireland and Northern France AD 600–850. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1991.

Doherty 2000: Charles Doherty. ‘Cluain Dolcáin: a brief note’, 182–88, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Doherty 2005: Charles Doherty. ‘The earliest cult of Molaisse’, 13–24, in Henry A. Jefferies (ed). History of the Diocese of Clogher from earliest times. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

Doherty 2005b: Charles Doherty. ‘Derry’, 123, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Dolan 1985: Brigid Dolan. ‘The Stowe Missal’, 134, in Michael Ryan (ed), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Duffy 1992: Seán Duffy, ‘Irishmen and Islesmen in the kingdoms of Dublin and Man, 1052–1171’, Ériu, 43 (1992).

Duffy 1995: Seán Duffy, ‘The first Ulster Plantation: John de Courcy and the Men of Cumbria’, 1–28, in Terry Barry, Robin Frame & Katharine Simms (eds), Colony and Frontier: essays presented to J.F. Lydon. London: Hambledon Press, 1995.

Dumville 1993: David Dumville et al. Saint Patrick AD 493–1993. Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 1993.

Dumville 1997: David Dumville. Councils and synods of the Gaelic early and central Middle Ages. Quiggin Pamphlets, 3. Cambridge 1997.

Dumville 1998: David Dumville. ‘Derry, Iona, England and the governance of the Columban Church’, 91–114, in Gerard O’Brien (ed.), Derry and Londonderry: history and society.Dublin: Geography Publications, 1998.

Earley 1999: J.E. Earley. ‘Conflict over the rectory of Cinél Luacháin during the fifteenth century’, Breifne 9(1999), no. 35, 103–13.

Edwards 1983: Nancy Edwards. ‘An early group of crosses from the kingdom of Ossory’. JRSAI, 113 (1983), 5–46.

Egan 1960: P.K. Egan. The parish of Ballinsloe: its history from the earliest times to the present day. Dublin, 1960.

Egan et al 2005: U. Egan, E. Byrne, M. Sleeman, S. Ronan and C. Murphy. Archaeological Inventory of County Sligo. Vol. 1: South Sligo. Bray: Wordwell, 2005.

Eogan 2001: George Eogan. ‘High crosses in Brega’. Ríocht na Midhe, 12 (2001), 17–24.

Eogan 2006: George Eogan: Some archaeological sites at Tailteann and environs, Co. Meath (with appendix by Patricia Ryan on the Donaghpatrick scratch dial), Ríocht na Midhe, 17 (2006) 16–31.

Etchingham 1993: Colmán Etchingham. ‘The implications of paruchia’, Ériu, 44 (1993), 139–62.

Etchingham 1994: Colmán Etchingham. ‘Bishops in the Early Irish church: a re-assessment’, Studia Hibernica, 28 (1994), 35–62.

Etchingham 1996: Colmán Etchingham. Viking raids on Irish church settlements in the ninth century: a re-consideration of the annals. Maynooth: Dept. Old Irish, 1996.

Etchingham 1999: Colmán Etchingham. Church organisation in Ireland AD 650–1000. Maynooth: Laigin Press, 1999.

Etchingham 2001: Colmán Etchingham. ‘Kildare before the Normans’, JKAHS, 19 no 1 (2001). Reprinted in R. Gillespie (ed), St Brigid’s Cathedral Kildare: a History. Naas: Kildare Arch Soc, 2001.

Etchingham & Swift 2001: Colmán Etchingham and Cathy Swift. ‘Early Irish church organization: the case of Drumlease and the Book of Armagh’, Breifne, 9 no. 37,(2001), 285–312.

Fahey 1901: J. Fahey. ‘The shrines of Inis-an-Ghoill, Lough Corrib’, JRSAI, 31 (1901), 236–45.

Fahey 1903: J. Fahey. ‘Diocese of Annaghdown’, JGAHS,3 (1903–4), 129–35.

Fahy 1962: E. M. Fahy. ‘Skeam Island church’, JCHAS, 67 (1962), 138–43.

Falkiner 1906: C. Litton Falkiner. ‘The Knights hospitallers in Co. Galway’, JGAHS,4 (1906), 213–8.

Fanning 1976: Thomas Fanning. ‘Excavations at Clontuskert priory, Co Galway’, PRIA,76C (1976), 97–169.

Fanning 1981: Thomas Fanning. ‘Excavation of an early Christian cemetery and settlement at Reask, County Kerry’, PRIA,81C (1981), 67–172.

Fanning 1981b: Thomas Fanning. ‘Early christian sites in the barony of Corkaguiney’, 241–6, in Donnchadh Ó Corráin (ed), Irish Antiquity: essays and studies presented to Professor M.J. O’Kelly. Cork: Tower Books, 1981.

Fanning 1984: Thomas Fanning. ‘Some field monuments in the townlands of Clonmelsh and Garryhundon, Co Carlow’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 43–49.

Fanning & Ó Corráin 1977: Thomas Fanning & Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘An Ogam stone and cross-slab from Ratass church, Tralee’, JKAHS, 10 (1977), 14–18.

Fanning & Ó hÉailidhe 1980: Thomas Fanning and Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Some cross-inscribed slabs from the Irish midlands’, 5–23, in Harman Murtagh (ed), Irish midland studies: essays in commemoration of N.W. English. Athlone, 1980.

Farrelly & O’Brien: 2002: J. Farrelly and C. O’Brien. Archaeological Inventory of County Tipperary. Vol. 1. North Tipperary. Dublin, 2002.

Fewer 1996: Thomas Gregory Fewer. ‘The ruined church of Killea: a consideration of its date and foundation’, Decies,52 (1996), 151–67.

Fitzgerald 1904: Walter Fitzgerald. ‘The history and antiquities of the Queen’s County barony of Portnahinch’, JKAHS, (1903–4), 184–204.

Fitzgerald 1911: Walter Fitzgerald, 'The Killeshin church ruins, Queen's county', JKAHS, 6 (1909–1911), 185–205.

Fitzmaurice 1970: B. Fitzmaurice. ‘A survey of the pre-Norman stone crosses of Co Carlow’, Carloviana, 19 (1970), 31–2.

Fitzpatrick 1985: E. Fitzpatrick. Archaeological survey of holy wells in the baronies of Arra and Owney, Upper and Lower Ormond. 1985. (unpublished report).

Fitzpatrick 1991: Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. ‘An Early Christian site at Curraclone, Co Laois’, JKAHS, 17 (1987–91), 213–15.

Fitzpatrick 1995a: Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. ‘Ecclesiastical history of Leitir Lugna to c.1700’, 7–20, in E. Fitzpatrick, P. Heaney & A. Rosse. The wet hillside of Saint Lugna. Tullamore: by the authors, 1995.

Fitzpatrick 1995b: Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. ‘Archaeology of Leitir Lugna church’, 30–39, in E. Fitzpatrick, P. Heaney & A. Rosse. The wet hillside of Saint Lugna. Tullamore: by the authors, 1995.

Fitzpatrick 1998: Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. ‘The early church in Offaly’, 93–130, in Timothy O’Neill & William Nolan (eds.). Offaly: history and society. Dublin: Geography publications, 1998.

Fitzpatrick & O’Brien 1998: Elizabeth Fitzpatrick & Caimín O’Brien. The medieval churches of Co Offaly. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1998.

Flanagan 1970–1: Deirdre Flanagan. ‘The names of Downpatrick’. Dinnseanchas, 4 (1970–1), 89–112.

Flanagan 1984: Deirdre Flanagan. ‘The Christian impact on early Ireland: place-names evidence’, 25–42, in M. Richter & P. Ní Chatháin ed, Ireland and Europe: the Early Church. Stuttgart, 1984.

Flanagan 1981: Marie Therese Flanagan. ‘Mac Dalbaig, a Leinster chieftain’, JRSAI, 111 (1981), 5–13.

Fleming 1667: Patrick Fleming. Collectanea Sacra. Leuven, 1667.

Flood 1916: W.H. Grattan Flood. The History of the Diocese of Ferns. Waterford, 1916.

Fraher 1983: William Fraher. ‘Ardo House’, Decies,24 (1983), 25–8.

Frost 1893: J. Frost. The history and topography of the county of Clare: from the earliest times to the beginning of the 18th century. Dublin, 1893.

Fuller 2002: Janice Fuller. ‘Past vegetation and land-use dynamics in Mayo Abbey, central Mayo’. Arch Ire., 16 no. 3 (Autumn 2002), 20–3.

Garstin 1929: John Ribton Garstin. ‘Louth Ordnance Survey Letters: Ballymascanlan, Barronstown, Carlingford, Castletown, Creggan, Dundalk, Faughart, Kane, Kildemock, Phil.’ CLAHJ, VII, 1, (1929), 53–68

Gaskell Brown & Harper 1984: C. Gaskell Brown & A.E.T. Harper. ‘Excavations on Cathedral Hill, Armagh’, UJA, 47 (1984), 109–61.

Gibson 2007: Paul Gibson. ‘An archaeomagnetic investigation of the monastic site at Kilskyre, Co Meath’. Ríocht na Midhe, 18 (2007).

Gillespie 2001: Raymond Gillespie (ed). St Brigid’s Cathedral Kildare: a History Naas: Kildare Arch Soc, 2001.

Gleeson 1915: John Gleeson. History of the Ely O’Carroll territory, or ancient Ormond, situated in north Tipperary and north-western King's County, Ireland. Dublin, 1915. (reprint 1982).

Gleeson 1952: Dermot F. Gleeson. ‘Churches in the deanery of Ormond’, NMAJ, 6 (1951–2), 96–107; 130–5.

Gleeson & Gwynn 1962: Dermot F. Gleeson and Aubrey Gwynn. A history of the diocese of Killaloe. Dublin, 1962.

Gosling 1993: Paul Gosling. Archaeological Inventory of County Galway. Vol.1: West Galway. Dublin, 1993.

Gowen 1989a: Margaret Gowen. ‘Grace Dieu’, 16, in Isobel Bennett (ed), Excavations 1988. Dublin, 1989.

Gowen 1989b: Margaret Gowen. ‘Kilshane’, 18, in Isobel Bennett (ed), Excavations 1988. Dublin, 1989.

Gowen 1989c: Margaret Gowen. ‘Westereave’, 21, in Isobel Bennett (ed), Excavations 1988. Dublin, 1989.

Gowen 2001: Margaret Gowen. ‘Excavations at the site of the church and tower at St Michael le Pole, Dublin’, 13–52, in Sean Duffy, Medieval Dublin II. Dublin, 2001.

Grannell 1967a: Fergal Grannell. ‘Ferns’, Dictionnaire d’histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques , 1121–63. Paris, 1967

Grant 1994: Christine Grant. ‘A new Leitrim high-cross’, Arch Ire., 8 no. 4 (Winter 1994), 16–17.

Graves 1883–4: James Graves, 'Clonarb and its crosses', JRSAI16 (1883–4), 428–30.

Grogan & Kilfeather 1997: Eoin Grogan & Annaba Kilfeather. Archaeological Inventory of Co Wicklow. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1997.

Grosjean 1957: Paul Grosjean. ‘Chronologie de S. Feuillen’, Analecta Bollandiana, 75 (1957), 379–93

Grose 1791: Francis Grose. The Antiquities of Ireland. London, 1791 (but not published till 1796).

Grove-White 1905–25: James Grove-White. (Col.) Historical and Topographical Notes on Buttevant, Castletownroche, Doneraile, Mallow, and Places in their Vicinity, Cork, 1905–25.

Gwynn 1946: Aubrey Gwynn. The medieval province of Armagh, 1470–1545. Armagh, 1946.

Gwynn & Hadcock 1970: Aubrey Gwynn & R. Neville Hadcock. Irish Monastic Houses. London, 1970.

Hall 1990: Mark E. Hall. ‘Two Early Christian slabs from Dysart, Thomastown, Co Kilkenny’, JRSAI, 120 (1990), 131–2.

Hamilton 1921: G. E. Hamilton. ‘Black Abbey, County Down’, JRSAI, 51 (1921), 166–78.

Hamlin 1972: Ann Hamlin. ‘Drumqueran, County Antrim’, UJA, 35 (1972), 22–7.

Hamlin 1977: Ann Hamlin. ‘A recently discovered enclosure at Inch Abbey, County Down’, UJA, 40 (1977), 85–8.

Hamlin 1982: Ann Hamlin. ‘Early Irish stone carving: content and context’, 283–96, in S.M. Pearce (ed.), The Early Church in Western Britain and Ireland: studies presented to C.A. Ralegh-Radford. Oxford: B.A.R., 1982.

Hamlin 1983: Ann Hamlin. Historic Monuments of Northern Ireland. Belfast: HMSO, 1983.

Hamlin 1985: Ann Hamlin. ‘The archaeology of the Early Irish Church in the eighth century’. Peritia, 4 (1985), 279–99.

Hamlin 1992: Ann Hamlin. ‘The Early Irish Church: Problems of Identification’, 138–44, in N. Edwards & A.Lane (eds.). The Early Church in Wales and the West.Oxbow Monograph 16. Oxford, 1992.

Hamlin 1995: Ann Hamlin. ‘The Blackwater group of crosses’, 187–96, in Cormac Bourke (ed.), From the Isles of the North: medieval art in Ireland and Britain. Belfast, 1995.

Hamlin 1997: Ann Hamlin. ‘The Early Church in County Down to the Twelfth Century’, in L. Proudfoot & W. Nolan, Down History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1997.

Hamlin 2000: Ann Hamlin. ‘The early church in Tyrone to the twelfth century’, 85–126, in Charles Dillon, Henry A. Jefferies & William Nolan (eds.), Tyrone: history and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 2000.

Hamlin & Haworth 1981: Ann Hamlin & Richard Haworth. ‘A crucifixion plaque re-provenced’, JRSAI, 112 (1982), 112–16.

Hamlin & Foley 1983: Ann Hamlin & Claire Foley. ‘A womens’ graveyard at Carrickmore, Co Tyrone’, UJA, 46 (1983), 41–6.

Hamlin & Lynn 1988: Ann Hamlin and Chris Lynn. Pieces of the Past. Belfast, 1988.

Handcock 1899: William Handcock. History of the parish of Tallaght. Dublin, 1899.

Hanley et al 1995: Kenneth Hanley, Mairéad Weaver & Judith Monk. An archaeological survey of St Molaga’s church, Aghacross, Mitchelstown, Co Cork. Cork, 1995.

Harbison 1970: Peter Harbison. ‘How old is Gallarus Oratory?’ Med. Arch, 14 (1970), 34–59.

Harbison 1972: Peter Harbison. ‘Some Romanesque heads from Co Clare’, NMAJ, 15 (1972), 3–7.

Harbison 1975: Peter Harbison. Guide to the national monuments of the Republic of Ireland. Dublin, 1975 (revised and updated 1992).

Harbison 1976: Peter Harbison. ‘A decorated stone fragment from Terryglass, County Tipperary’, NMAJ,10 (1976), 108–11.

Harbison 1980: Peter Harbison, ‘A lost crucifixion plaque of Clonmacnoise type found in Co Mayo’, 24–38, in Harman Murtagh (ed), Irish midland studies: essays in commemoration of N.W. English. Athlone: Old Athlone Soc., 1980.

Harbison 1982: Peter Harbison. ‘St Doulagh’s church’, Studies,(Spring 1982), 27–42.

Harbison 1987: Peter Harbison. ‘The date of the Crucifixion slabs from Duvillaun More and Inishkea North, Co Mayo’, 73–91 in E. Rynne (ed.), Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

Harbison 1990–1: Peter Harbison. ‘Meath high-cross fragments: lost and found’. Ríocht na Mídhe, 8 no. 3 (1990–1), 134–44.

Harbison 1991: Peter Harbison. ‘Early Christian antiquities at Clonmore, Co Carlow’, PRIA, 91C (1991), 177–200.

Harbison 1992: Peter Harbison. The High Crosses of Ireland: an iconographical and photographic survey. 3 Vols. Bonn, 1992.

Harbison 1993: Peter Harbison. ‘A high-cross base from the Rock of Cashel, and a historical reconsederation of the “Ahenny group” of crosses’. PRIA, 93C (1993), 1–20.

Harbison 1994: Peter Harbison. Irish High Crosses. Drogheda, 1994.

Harbison 1995: Peter Harbison. ‘A crucifixion-plaque in stone?’, Arch Ire., 9 no. 2 (Summer 1995), 11–12.

Harbison 1996: Peter Harbison. Ancient Ireland: from prehistory to the Middle Ages. London, 1996.

Harbison 1998: Peter Harbison. ‘A shaft-fragment from Slane, Co Meath, and other recent high-cross discoveries’, 171–6, in Conleth Manning (ed), Dublin and beyond the Pale: studies in honour of Patrick Healy. Bray: Wordwell, 1998.

Harrington 2002: Christina Harrington. Women in a Celtic Church. Oxford: OUP, 2002.

Hartnett 1954: P.J. Hartnett. ‘Rossinver church and graveyard, Co Leitrim’, JRSAI, 84 (1954), 180–1.

Hawkes 1938: W. Hawkes. ‘Early cross at Killerk, Co. Wicklow’, JRSAI, 68 (1938), 156–7.

Hawkes 1997: Jane Hawkes. ‘Columban virgins: iconic images of the Virgin and Child in insular sculpture’, 107–35, in Cormac Bourke (ed), Studies in the cult of Saint Columba. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1997.

Hayes 1998: Francis Hayes. ‘Kildoney Glebe, Kilbarron, Co Donegal’, 164–85, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

Healy 1901: W. Healy. ‘Antiquities from Kilkenny city to Kilcooley abbey’, WAJ, 7 (1901), 21–31.

Healy 1974: P. Healy. Report on monuments and sites of archaeological interest in County Dublin. No. 1 – Western Section. An Foras Forbartha.

Healy 1988: J. N. Healy. The castles of County Cork. Cork, 1988.

Henderson & Okasha 1992: J. Henderson and E. Okasha. ‘The Early Christian inscribed and carved stones of Tullylease, County Cork’, CMCS, 24 (1992), 1–36.

Hennessy 2004: Mark Hennessy. Trim. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 14. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 2004.

Hennig 1952: John Hennig. ‘The Irish background of St. Fursey’, IER, 77 (1952), 18–28.

Henry 1937: Francoise Henry, ‘Early Christian slabs and pillar-stones in the west of Ireland’, JRSAI, 67 (1937), 265–79.

Henry 1945: Francoise Henry. ‘Remains of the Early Christian Period on Iniskea North, Co Mayo’, JRSAI, 75 (1945), 128–45.

Henry 1947: Francoise Henry. ‘The antiquities of Caher Island, Co Mayo’, JRSAI, 77 (1947), 23–38.

Henry 1952: Francoise Henry. ‘Megalithic and Early Christian Remains at Lankill, Co Mayo’, JRSAI, 82 (1952), 68–71.

Henry 1957: Francoise Henry. ‘Early monasteries, beehive huts, and dry-stone houses in the neighbourhood of Caherciveen and Waterville (Co, Kerry)’, PRIA, 58C (1957), 45–166.

Henry 1970: Francoise Henry. Irish art in the Romanesque period, 1120–1170AD London, 1970.

Henry 1980: Francoise Henry. ‘Around an inscription: the Cross of the Scriptures at Clonmacnois’. JRSAI, 110 (1980), 36–46.

Herbert 1977: Máire Herbert. ‘Beathaí na Naomh’, 5–18, in Pádraig Ó Fiannachta (ed.), Ár ndúchas creidimh. Léachtaí Cholum Cille, 8. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1977.

Herbert 1988: Máire Herbert. Iona, Kells and Derry: the history and hagiography of the monastic familia of Columba. Oxford, 1988.

Herbert 2001: Máire Herbert. ‘The vita Columbae and Irish hagiography: a study of Vita Cainnechi’, 31–40, in J. Carey, M. Herbert & P. Ó Riain (eds.), Saints and scholars: studies in Irish hagiography. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2001.

Herbert 2004: Máire Herbert. ‘Observations on the life of Mo-Laga’, 139–52, in J. Carey, M. Herbert & K. Murray (eds.), Cín Chille Cúile: essays in honour of Pádraig Ó Riain. Aberystwyth: Celtic Studies Publications, 2004.

Herbert 2005: Máire Herbert. ‘Before charters? Property records in pre-Anglo Norman Ireland’, 107–19, in in M.T. Flanagan & J.A. Green (eds), Charters and charter scholarship in Britain and Ireland. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.

Herbert & Ó Riain 1988: Introduction and notes to Máire Herbert & Pádraig Ó Riain (eds), Betha Adamnáin: the Irish Life of Adamnáin. London: Irish Texts Society, 1988.

Herity 1977: Michael Herity. ‘The High Island hermitage’, Irish University Review, 7 (Spring 1977), 52–69.

Herity 1983: Michael Herity. ‘The buildings and layout of Early Irish monasteries before the year 1000’, Monastic Studies, 14 (1983), 270–77.

Herity 1984: Michael Herity. ‘The layout of Irish Early Christian monasteries’, 105–16, in M. Richter & P. Ní Chatháin ed, Ireland and Europe: the Early Church. Stuttgart, 1984.

Herity 1987: Michael Herity. ‘A survey of the royal site of Cruachain in Connacht; III: ringforts and ecclesiastical sites’. JRSAI, 117 (1987), 125–41.

Herity 1989: Michael Herity. ‘Cathair na Naomh and its cross-slabs’. Cathair na Mart, 9 (1989), 91–100.

Herity 1990: Michael Herity. ‘The hermitage on Ardoileán, Co Galway’. JRSAI, 120 (1990), 65–101.

Herity 1995: Michael Herity. ‘Two island hermitages in the Atlantic: Rathlin O’Birne, Donegal, and Caher Island, Mayo’, JRSAI, 125 (1995), 85–128.

Herity et al.1997: Michael Herity, Dorothy Kelly & Ursula Mattenberger. ‘List of Early Christian cross-slabs in seven north-western counties’, JRSAI, 127 (1997), 80–124.

Hicks 1974: Ronald Hicks.Two cross-inscribed stones’, JRSAI, 104, (1974), 157–158.

Hicks 1980: Carola Hicks. ‘A Clonmacnois workshop in stone’, JRSAI, 110 (1980), 5–35.

Higgins 1987: J.G. Higgins, The early Christian cross-slabs, pillar stones and related monuments of County Galway, Ireland. BAR International Series no. 375, I & II. Oxford: BAR, 1987.

Higgins 1989: J.G. Higgins. ‘The ecclesiastical site at Moyne, Co Galway: news report’. Arch Ire,., 3 no. 3 (Autumn 1989), 84.

Higgins 1991: J.G. Higgins. ‘Some Early Christian and medieval sculpture from Coolcashin, Co Kilkenny’. Old Kilkenny Review, 4 no 3 (1991), 599–610.

Higgins 1992: J.G. Higgins. ‘An Early Christian cross-slab from Roscam, Co Galway’. JGAS, 44 (1992), 209–12.

Higgins 1993: J.G. Higgins. ‘A Chi-Ro decorated pebble from Kilcorban, Co Galway’. JRSAI, 123 (1993), 164–5.

Higgins & Gibbons 1993: J.G. Higgins & Michael Gibbons. ‘Early Christian monuments at Kilgeever, Co Mayo’. Cathair na Mart, 13 (1993), 32–44.

Hogan 1910: Edmond Hogan. Onomasticon Goedelicum locorum et tribuum Hiberniae et Scotiae. Dublin: Hodges, 1910 (reprint, Dublin: 1994).

Holland 2004: Martin Holland. ‘The twelfth-century reform and Inis Pátraic’, 159–78 in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Holland 2006: Patrick Holland. ‘An early medieval crozier knop from Kilbragh, Co Tipperary’. Tipperary Hist. Jnl. (2006).

Hore 1862: H.F. Hore. ‘An Account of the Barony of Forth in the County of Wexford, written at the close of the Seventeenth Century’ Jnl Kilk Arch Soc. 4, (1862–3), 53–92.

Hore 1901–11: P.H. Hore.History of the Town and County of Wexford. 6 vols., London, 1901–11

Horn, White-Marshall & Rourke 1991: Walter Horn, Jenny White Marshall & Grellan Rourke. The forgotten hermitage of Skellig Michael. San Francisco: California U.P., 1991.

Holton 1998: Karina Holton. ‘Cloncurry, Co Kildare’, 43–68, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

Hourihane & Hourihane 1979: C. D. Hourihane and J. J. Hourihane. ‘The Kilnaruane pillar stone, County Cork’, JCHAS, 84 (1979), 65–73.

Hughes 1999: A.J. Hughes. ‘The virgin saint Duinsech and her three Ulster churches near Strangford Lough, Co Down’. Celtica, 23 (1999), 113–24.

Hughes 1954–55: Kathleen Hughes. ‘The cult of St Finnian of Clonard from the eighth to the eleventh century’, Irish Historical Studies, 9 (1954–55), 13–27.

Hughes 1966: Kathleen Hughes. The Church in Early Irish Society. London: Methuen, 1966.

Hughes 1972: Kathleen Hughes. Early Christian Ireland: Introduction to the sources. London, 1972.

Hurl 1998: D. P. Hurl. ‘Adjusting your sites: the ecclesiastical enclosure at Armoy, Co Antrim’, Arch Ire., 12 no. 1 (Spring 1998), 10–11.

Hurl 2002: D. P. Hurl. ‘The excavation of an Early Christian cemetery at Solar, County Antrim, 1993’, UJA, 61 (2002), 37–60.

Hurley 1988: Maurice F. Hurley. ‘Excavations at an early ecclesiastical enclosure at Kilkieran, Co Kilkenny’. JRSAI, 118 (1988), 124–34.

Hurley 2005: Maurice F. Hurley. ‘Christianity, churches and burial places’, 85–92 in J. Crowley et al (eds), Atlas of Cork City. Cork: Cork University Press, 2005.

Hurley, Scully & McCutcheon 1997: Maurice F. Hurley, O.M.B. Scully, and S.J.W. McCutcheon. Late Viking Age and Medieval Waterford: excavations 1986–92. Waterford, 1997.

Hurley 1980: Vincent Hurley. ‘Additions to the Map of Monastic Ireland: the South West’, JCHAS, 85 (1980), 52–65.

Hurley & O’Flaherty 1981: Vincent Hurley & B.D. O’Flaherty. ‘A Cross-inscribed Stone from an Early Ecclesiastical Enclosure at Bawnatemple, near Macroom, County Cork’, JCHAS, 86 (1981), 53–62.

Hynes 1931: John Hynes. ‘St Caillin’, JRSAI, 61 pt 2 (1931), 39–54.

Ivens 1984: R.J. Ivens. ‘Movilla, Co Down: an early church Site’. UJA, 47 (1984), 71–108.

Ivens 1987: R. J. Ivens. ‘The Early Christian Monastic Enclosure at Tullylish, County Down’, UJA,50 (1987), 55–118.

Ivens 1989: R.J. Ivens. ‘Dunmisk Fort, Carrickmore, Co Tyrone: excavations 1984–1986’. UJA, 52 (1989), 17–110, esp 55–61.

Jackson 1979–80: Patricia Jackson. ‘The holy wells of Co Kildare’. JKAHS, 16 no.2 (1979–80), 133–61.

Jaski 2000: Bart Jaski. Early Irish kingship and succession. Dublin: four Courts Press, 2000.

Jefferies & Johnston 2000: Henry A. Jefferies & Ethna Johnston. ‘Early churches in the Faughan River valley, Co Derry’, 49–72, in Henry A. Jefferies & Ciarán Devlin (eds.). History of the Diocese of Derry from earliest times. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Jefferies 2005: Henry A. Jefferies. ‘Armagh’, 28–30, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Johnston 1995: Elva Johnston. ‘Transforming women in Irish hagiography’. Peritia, 9 (1995), 197–220.

Johnston 1999: Elva Johnston. ‘Timahoe and the Loígse: monasticism’, 63–88, in P.G. Lane & W. Nolan (eds), Laois: history and society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1999.

Jones 1910: Walter A. Jones. ‘The Munster Ros-na-Righ and its traditions’, JCHAS, 16 (1910), 53–9.

Jones 2004: Carleton Jones. The Burren and the Aran Islands: exploring the archaeology. Cork: Collins Press, 2004.

Jope et al 1966: E.M. Jope et al. An archaeological survey of Co Down. Belfast: HMSO, 1966.

Joyce 1911: Weston St. John Joyce. Wonders of Ireland. London, 1911.

Joyce 1921: Weston St. John Joyce. The neighbourhood of Dublin. London, 1921.

Keeley 1987–91: Valerie Keeley. ‘Excavation at the Longstone, Kilgowan’, JKAHS, 17 (1987–91), 161–7.

Kehnel 1997: Annette Kehnel. Clonmacnois: the church and lands of St Ciarán. Münster: Lit Verlag, 1997.

Kelly 1986: Dorothy Kelly. ‘Irish high crosses: some evidence from the plainer examples’. JRSAI, 116 (1986), 51–67.

Kelly 1988: Dorothy Kelly. ‘Cross-carved slabs from Latteragh, Co Tipperary’. JRSAI, 118 (1988), 92–100.

Kelly 1993: Dorothy Kelly. ‘Some remains of high-crosses in the West of Ireland’. JRSAI, 123 (1993), 152–63.

Kelly 2000: Dorothy Kelly, ‘The crosses of Tory Island’, 53–63, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Kelly 2002: Éamonn P. Kelly. ‘Antiquities from Irish holy wells and their wider context’..Arch Ire., 16 no. 2 (Summer 2002), 24–8.

Kelly 2003: Éamonn P. Kelly. ‘The Tully Lough cross’. Arch Ire., 17 no. 2 (Summer 2003), 9–10.

Kelly 2006: Martin Kelly. ‘History of the site of Lullymore, Co Kildare’, JRSAI, 136 (2006), 173–81.

Kelly 1897: Richard J. Kelly. ‘The islands of the Corrib’, JRSAI, 27 (1897), 379–88.

Kelly 1901: Richard J. Kelly. ‘Notes on the round tower of Kilbannon and on Kilcreevanty, Co. Galway’, JRSAI, 31 (1901), 379–84.

Kennedy 2003: Joseph Kennedy. The monastic heritage and folklore of County Laois. Roscrea: Lisheen Publications, 2003.

Kenney 1929: James F. Kenney. The sources for the early history of Ireland: Ecclesiastical. Columbia, N.Y., 1929.

Keville 1939: P. Keville. ‘Pottery from Aghalee Graveyard’, UJA, 2 (1939), 210–1.

Kilbride-Jones 1939: Howard Kilbride-Jones, 'Early Christian Cemetery at Kilbride, Co. Wicklow', JRSAI69 (1939), 173–6.

Killanin 1947: Lord Killanin. ‘Notes on some of the antiquities of the barony of Moycullen, Co. Galway’, JGAHS, 22 (1947), 120–31.

Killanin 1951: Lord Killanin. ‘The national monuments of Co. Galway’, JGAHS,24 (1950–1), 115–24.

Killanin & Duignan 1954: Lord Killanin and M. V. Duignan. The Shell guide to Ireland. London, 1954 (2nded 1967, 3rded 1989).

Kinahan 1868: G.H. Kinahan. ‘Cyclopean churches in the vicinity of Loughs Corrib, Mask and Carra’, JRSAI,10 (1868), 76–80; 131–7.

King 2005: Heather King. ‘Nobber’s early medieval treasures revealed’. Arch Ire., 19 no. 3 (Autumn 2005), 21–4.

Kirwan 1985: E.M. Kirwan. ‘The ogham stones at Drumlohan reconsidered’, Decies,29 (1985), 6–12.

Kirwan 1987: E.M. Kirwan. ‘Drumlohan: a survey of its antiquities’, Decies,35 (1987), 33–40.

Kirwan 1991: Seán Kirwan. ‘County Limerick: County Focus’. Arch Ire., 5 no. 1 (Spring 1991), 8–11.

Knox 1901: H.T. Knox. ‘Occupation of the county of Galway by the Anglo-Normans after 1237’, JRSAI,31 (1901), 365–70.

Knox 1902–3: H.T. Knox. ‘Occupation of Connaught by the Anglo-Normans after A.D. 1237’, JRSAI,32 (1902), 132–8; 393–406; 33 (1903), 58–74; 179–89; 284–94.

Knox 1904: H. T. Knox.Notes on the early history of the dioceses of Tuam, Killala and Achonry. Dublin, 1904.

Knox 1908: H. T. Knox. The history of the county of Mayo to the close of the sixteenth century. Dublin, 1908.

Knox 1911: H.T. Knox. ‘The Croghans and some Connacht raths and motes’, JRSAI, 41 (1911), 93–116.

Lacey 1983: Brian Lacey. Archaeological Survey of Co Donegal.

Lifford: Donegal County Council, 1983.

Lacey 1998: Brian Lacey. ‘Columba, founder of the monastery of Derry? Mihi manet incertus’, JRSAI, 128 (1998), 35–47.

Lacey 2002: Brian Lacey, ‘Tírechán’s Sírdruimm, Adomnán’s Dorsum Tómmae’, JRSAI, 132 (2002), 148–50.

Lacey 2006: Brian Lacey. Cenél Conaill. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2006.

Lahart 1956: Richard Lahart. The history and antiquities of the parish of Dunnamaggan – including a full history of the great monastic foundation of Kells – in the diocese of Ossory. Tralee, 1956.

Lalor 1999: Brian Lalor. The Irish Round Tower: Origins and Architecture Explored. Cork : Collins Press, 1999.

Lanigan 1829: John Lanigan. Ecclesiastical History of Ireland. 4 vols. Dublin, 1829.

Lawlor 1925: H. C. Lawlor. The Monastery of Saint Mochaoi of Nendrum. Belfast, 1925.

Leask 1920: Harold G. Leask. ‘Monaincha Church’, JRSAI,50 (1920) 24–35.

Leask 1930: Harold G. Leask, 'The Church of St. Lua or Molua, Friar's Island, near Killaloe', JRSAI,60 (1930), 130–36.

Leask 1937: Harold G. Leask. ‘St. Mochta's House, Louth’. CLAHJ, IX, 1, (1937), 32–5.

Leask 1938: Harold G. Leask. ‘Tullylease, County Cork, its churches and monuments’, JCHAS, 43 (1938), 101–8.

Leask 1943: Harold G. Leask, 'Killoughternane Church, Co. Carlow', JRSAI 73 (1943), 98–100.

Leask 1960a: Harold G. Leask. Irish churches and monastic buildings, Vol. 1: The first phases and the Romanesque. Dundalk, 1960 (reprinted 1977).

Leask 1960b: Harold G. Leask. Irish churches and monastic buildings, Vol. 2. Gothic architecture to A.D. 1400. Dundalk, 1960 (reprinted 1966).

Leask 1960c: Harold G. Leask. Irish churches and monastic buildings, Vol. 3. Medieval gothic and last phases.Dundalk, 1960 (reprinted 1978).

Ledwich 1804: Edward Ledwich. Antiquities of Ireland. (2ndedition) Dublin, 1804.

Leslie 1911: J. B. Leslie. Armagh Clergy and Parishes. Dundalk,1911.

Leslie 1929: J.B. Leslie. Clogher Clergy and Parishes. Enniskillen, 1929.

Lett 1905a: H.W. Lett. ‘Slieve Donard, in the County of Down’, JRSAI, 25Pt 3, (1905), 230–233.

Lett 1905b: H.W. Lett. ‘The island in Lough Briclan (Loughbrickland, County Down)’. JRSAI,25 Pt 3, (1905), 249–254.

Lionard 1960–1: Pádraig Lionard. ‘Early Irish grave slabs’, PRIA, 61 (1960–1), 95–170.

Little 1951: G.A. Little. ‘The provenance of the Church of St Michael le Pole’, Dublin Historical Record, 12 no. 1 (1951), 2–13.

Livingstone 1980: Peadar Livingstone. The Monaghan story: a documented history of the county of Monaghan from the earliest times to 1976. Enniskillen, 1980.

Logan 1971: J. Logan. ‘Tadg O’Roddy and two surveys of Co. Leitrim’, Breifne 4, no. 14 (1971), 318–34.

Logue, Donnelly & McHugh 2003: R. Logue, C. Donnelly and R. McHugh. ‘Excavations in the vicinity of St Tassach’s church, Raholp, County Down’, UJA, 62 (2003), 116–20.

Lowry-Corry 1919: Dorothy Lowry-Corry. ‘Ancient grave-sites and graveyards in Co Fermanagh’. JRSAI, 49 (1919), 35–46.

Lucas 1973: Alfred T. Lucas. ‘National Museum of Ireland archaeological acquisitions in the year 1970’. JRSAI, 103 (1973), 177–213.

Lucas 1986: Alfred T. Lucas. ‘The Social role of relics and reliquaries in ancient Ireland’. JRSAI, 116 (1986), 5–37.

Lunney 2009: Linde Lunney. ‘Archdall, Mervyn (1723–91)’, in James McGuire et al (eds), Dictionary of Irish biography. Cambridge, 2009.

Lynn 1988: Chris Lynn. ‘Excavations at 46–48 Scotch street, Armagh 1979–80’, UJA,51 (1988), 69–84.

Lynn 1996: Chris Lynn. ‘Muiredach’s Cross: Dextra Dei and divine bulls’, Arch Ire, 10 no. 4 (Winter 1996), 18–19.

McAlister 2003: Deirdre K. McAlister. ‘Survey of Drumcullen (St Barrind’s) Church’. Offaly Heritage: Jnl of the Offaly Hist & Arch Soc, 1 (2003), 22–30.

Macalister 1896a: R.A.S. Macalister. ‘The antiquities of Ardilaun, Co. Galway’, JRSAI, 26 (1896), 197–210.

Macalister 1896b: R.A.S. Macalister. ‘Miscellanea: Omey, County Galway’, JRSAI, 26 (1896), 253.

Macalister 1909: R.A.S. Macalister. ‘The ogam stones near Clonmel and Carrick-on-Suir’, JRSAI, 39 (1909), 294–5.

Macalister 1929: R.A.S. Macalister. ‘On some excavations recently conducted on Friar’s Island, Killaloe’, JRSAI,59 (1929), 16–24.

Macalister 1945: R.A.S. Macalister. Corpus Inscriptionum Hiberniae, Vol. 1. Dublin, 1945.

Macalister and Leask 1945–8: R.A.S. Macalister and H.G. Leask. ‘Liathmore-Mochoemóg (Leigh), County Tipperary’, PRIA, 51C (1945–8), 1–14.

McCabe 1996: Brian McCabe. ‘A stone head from Lough Ramor, Co Cavan’. JRSAI, 126 (1996), 183.

McCarthy 1937: C. J. McCarthy. ‘St Finbar and his monastery’. JCHAS, 42 (1937), 16–24.

MacCóil 1977: Liam MacCóil. The Book of Blackrock. Blackrock: Carrig Books, 1977.

McCone 1982: Kim R. McCone. ‘Brigit in the Seventh century: a saint with three lives?’, Peritia, 1 (1982), 107–45.

McCone 1982b: Kim R. McCone. ‘Bríd Chill Dara’, 30–92, in P. Ó Fiannachta (ed.), Na mná sa litríocht. Léachtaí Cholm Cille, 12. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1982.

McCone 1984: Kim R. McCone. ‘Clones and her neighbours in the early period’, Clogher Record, 2 no. 3 (1984), 305–25.

McCone 1984b: Kim R. McCone. ‘An introduction to Early Irish saints’ lives’, Maynooth Review, 11 (1984), 26–59.

McCone 1986: Kim R. McCone. ‘Dubthach maccu Lugair and a matter of life and death in the pseudo-historical prologue to the Senchas Már’. Peritia, 5 (1986), 1–35.

McCone 1990: Kim R. McCone. Pagan past and Christian present. Maynooth Monographs, 3. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1990.

McCormick et al 1995: F. McCormick, G. Cribbin, M.E. Robinson, D.W. Shimwell & E. Murphy. ‘A pagan-Christian transitional burial at Kiltullagh’, Emania, 13 (1995), 89–98.

McCotter 2004: Paul McCotter. Colmán of Cloyne: a study. Dublin Four Courts Press, 2004.

McCullough & Crawford 2007: Catherine McCullough & W.H. Crawford. Armagh. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 18. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 2007.

MacDermott 1955: M. MacDermott. ‘The Kells Crosier’, Archaeologia, 96 (1955), 59–113.

MacDermott 1957: M. MacDermott. ‘The Crosiers of St Dympna and St Mel and tenth-century Irish metalwork’, PRIA, 58C (1957), 167–95.

MacDonald 1984: Aidan MacDonald. ‘Aspects of the monastery and monastic life in Adomnán’s Life of Columba’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 291–6.

McDonald 1990: Theresa McDonald. ‘Achill Island: Island Focus’.Arch Ire., 4 no. 3 (Autumn 1990), 7–9.

McDonald 1992: Theresa McDonald. Achill 5000 BC to 1900 AD: Archaeology, History, Folklore. Dublin: DIAS, 1992.

McDowell 1987: J.A. McDowell. ‘Excavations in an ecclesiastical enclosure at Doras, Co Tyrone’. UJA, 50 (1987), 137–54.

McErlean & Crothers 2001: Thomas McErlean & Norman Crothers. ‘Tidal power in the seventh and eighth centuries AD’..Arch Ire., 15 no. 2 (Summer 2001), 10–14.

MacGarry 1980: Damian MacGarry. ‘Three bronze pins from Lusk, Co Dublin’. JRSAI, 110 (1980), 153–5.

MacGiolla Easpaig 1996: Dónall MacGiolla Easpaig. ‘Early ecclesiastical settlement names of Co Galway’, 795–816, in G. Moran & R. Gillespie (ed), Galway: history and society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1996.

Mac Giolla Easpaig 1997: Dónall Mac Giolla Easpaig. ‘Breccán Cathe: a forgotten Derry saint’, Ainm, 7 (1996–7), 75–88.

Mac Giolla Easpaig 2005: Dónall Mac Giolla Easpaig. ‘Significance and etymology of the placename Temair’, 423–448, in Edel Bhreathnach (ed), The kingship and landscape of Tara. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

McGuinness & Redmond 1995: David McGuinness & Marcus Redmond. ‘Two bullaun stones in Kilbeg townland, Co Wicklow’. JRSAI, 125 (1995), 129–31.

MacÍomhair 1956: Diarmuid MacÍomhair. ‘Townland Survey of County Louth: Stickillin’.CLAHJ, XIII, 4, (1956), 399–407

MacÍomhair 1966: Diarmuid MacÍomhair. ‘Townland Survey of County Louth: Faughart Lower’. CLAHJ, XVI, 2 (1966), 121–4.

MacKenna & Scott 1898–9: J. Mac Kenna & W.A. Scott. ‘The Franciscan Friary of Creevelea, barony of Breffny, Co. Leitrim’, UJA, 2ndseries, 5 (1898–9), 101–201.

McLoughlin 1950: E.P. McLoughlin. Report on the anatomical investigation of the skeletal remains unearthed at castleknock in the excavation of an Early Christian cemetery in the Summer of 1938. Dublin, 1950.

McManus 1991: Damien McManus. A guide to Ogam. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1991.

MacNamee 1954: J. J. MacNamee. History of the Diocese of Ardagh. Dublin, 1954.

MacNerney 2000: J.P. MacNerney. From the Well of St Patrick: Dromard Parish Co. Longford. Longford, 2000.

MacNiocaill 1972: Gearóid MacNiocaill. Ireland before the vikings. Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 1972.

MacNiocaill 1975: Gearóid MacNiocaill. The Medieval Irish Annals. Dublin: Irish Historical Assoc, 1975.

McParlan 1802: J. McParlan. Statistical survey of the county of Mayo. Dublin, 1802.

MacShamhráin 1989: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Prosopographica Glindalechensis: the monastic church of Glendalough and its community sixth to twelfth centuries’, JRSAI, 119 (1989), 79–97.

MacShamhráin 1993: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Uí Muiredaig and the abbacy of Glendalough, eleventh to thirteenth centuries’, Cambridge Jnl Medieval Celtic Std, 25 (Summer 1993), 55–75.

MacShamhráin 1993b: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Placenames and archaeology: ecclesiastical settlement’,.Arch Ire.,7 no. 3 (Autumn 1993), S.14–15.

MacShamhráin 1994: Ailbhe MacShamhráin, ‘The Unity of Cóemgen and Ciarán: a covenant between Glendalough and Clonmacnoise in the tenth to eleventh centuries’, 139–50, in K. Hannigan & W. Nolan (eds), Wicklow: history and society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1994.

MacShamhráin 1996: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. Church and polity in pre-Norman Ireland: the case of Glendalough. Maynooth: An Sagart, 1996.

MacShamhráin 2004: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘An ecclesiastical enclosure in the townland of Grange, parish of Holmpatrick’, 52–60 in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

MacShamhráin 2004b: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Church and dynasty in Early Christian Brega: Lusk, Inis Pátraic and the case of Máel-Finnia, king and saint’, 125–39 in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

MacShamhráin 2004c: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘The new Monasticon Hibernicum and inquiry into the Early Christian and medieval church in Ireland’, Monastic Research Bulletin, 10 (2004), 1–16.

MacShamhráin 2005a: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘The Monasticon Hibernicum project: the diocese of Dublin’, 114–43, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, VI. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

MacShamhráin 2005b: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Brian Bóruma, Armagh and High-Kingship’, Seanchas Ard Mhacha, 20 no. 2 (2005), 1–21.

MacShamhráin 2005c: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Airbertach mac Cosse (d.1016)’, 13, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

MacShamhráin 2005d: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Glendalough’, 201–02, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

MacShamhráin 2005e: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘Máel-Muru Othna (d.887)’, 308, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

MacShamhráin 2008: Ailbhe MacShamhráin. ‘The Monasticon Hibernicum Project: a research tool for Early and medieval ecclesiastical settlement in Ireland’. Monastic Research Bulletin, 14 (2008), 24–31.

MacShamhráin & Byrne 2005: Ailbhe MacShamhráin & Paul Byrne. ‘Prosopography I: kings named in Baile Chuinn Chétchathaig and the Airgíalla Charter Poem’, 159–224, in Edel Bhreathnach (ed), The kingship and landscape of Tara. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

Mallory & McNeill 1991: J.P. Mallory & T.E. McNeill. The archaeology of Ulster: from colonization to plantation. Belfast: Inst. Of Irish Studies, 1991.

Manning 1980: Con Manning. ‘Cross-slab at Ardamore’, JKAHS, 13 (1980), 39–44.

Manning 1982: Con Manning. ‘Excavation of Kilteel Church, Co Kildare’, JKAHS, 16 no 3 (1981–2), 173–229.

Manning 1984: Con Manning. ‘The excavation of the Early Christian enclosure of Killederdadrum in Lackenavorna, County Tipperary’, PRIA, 84C (1984), 327–68.

Manning 1984b: Con Manning. ‘St Buite, Mellifont and Tobberboice’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 324–5.

Manning 1985: Con Manning. ‘An archaeological excavation at two church sites on Inishmore, Aran Islands’, JRSAI, 115 (1985), 96–120.

Manning 1991: Con Manning. ‘Toureen Peakaun: three new inscribed slabs’, Tipperary Historical Jnl, (1991), 209–14.

Manning 1994: Con Manning. Clonmacnoise. Dublin: Office of Public Works, 1994.

Manning 1996–7: Con Manning. ‘The Romanesque phase at Kilteel’, JKAHS,18 no.3 (1996–7).

Manning 1997: Con Manning. ‘Daire Mór identified’, Peritia,11 (1997), 359–69.

Manning 1998: Con Manning. ‘Cross-slabs from Clonenagh, Co Laois’, 185–92, in Conleth Manning (ed), Dublin and beyond the Pale: studies in honour of Patrick Healy. Bray: Wordwell, 1998.

Manning 1998b: Con Manning. ‘Some notes on the early history and archaeology of Tullaherin’. In the Shadow of the Steeple, 6 (1998), 19–39.

Manning 1998c: Con Manning. ‘Daire Mór and Longford pass’, Peritia, 12 (1998), 270

Manning 1999: Con Manning. St Mullins: an early ecclesiastical site and medieval settlement in Co Carlow. Archaeolgy Ireland Heritage Guide no. 5. Bray: Wordwell, 1999.

Manning 2000: Con Manning, ‘References to church buildings in the annals’, 37–52, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Manning 2002: Con Manning. ‘A puzzle in stone: the cathedral at Glendalough’. Arch Ire.,16 no.2 (Summer 2002), 18–21.

Manning 2002b: Con Manning. ‘The monuments on Church Mountain’. Wicklow Archaeology and History, 2 (2002).

Manning 2007: Con Manning. ‘Could well be a mill’. Arch Ire., 21 no.1 (Spring 2007), 12–15.

Manning & Moore 1997: Conleth Manning & Fionnbarr Moore, ‘A second ogham stone at Clara’, Peritia 11 (1997), 370–72.

Mason 1938: T.H. Mason. ‘The antiquarian remains of Inisheer, Aran, Co. Galway’, JRSAI, 68 (1938), 196–200.

Masterson 2003: Rory Masterson. ‘St Colmán and the early medieval monastery of Lynally c.600–1100’. Offaly Heritage: Jnl of the Offaly Hist & Arch Soc, 1 (2003), 38–50.

Meehan 2005a: Bernard Meehan. ‘Durrow, Book of’, 138, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Meehan 2005b: Bernard Meehan. ‘Kells, Book of’, 245–7, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Meenan 2004: Rosanne Meenan. ‘The excavation of pre-Norman burials and ditch near St Michan’s church, Dublin’, 91–110, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, V. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Mitchell 1984: G.F. Mitchell. ‘The cap of St Lachtin’s Arm’. JRSAI, 114 (1984), 139–40 (+ plate).

Moore 2001: Fionbarr Moore. ‘Ogham discovery in Mayo’. Arch Ire., 15 no.1 (Spring 2001), 33.

Moore 2007: Fionbarr Moore. Ardfert Cathedral: summary of excavation results. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 2007.

Moore 1987: M.J. Moore. Archaeological Inventory of County Meath. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1987.

Moore 1992: M.J. Moore. ‘Journey through a time-tunnel: county focus on Waterford’. Arch Ire, 6 no.1 (Spring 1992), 16–19.

Moore 1996: M.J. Moore. Archaeological Inventory of County Wexford. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1996.

Moore 1999: M.J. Moore. Archaeological Inventory of County Waterford. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1999.

Moore 2003: M.J. Moore. Archaeological Inventory of County Leitrim. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 2003.

Mount 2002: Charles Mount. ‘Flat disc rotary-quern fragment from Church Hill, Co Offaly’, JRSAI, 132 (2002), 147–8. (Rahen)

Mount & Keeley 1990: Charles Mount & Valerie Keeley. ‘An Early Medieval strap-tag from Balally, Co Dublin’, JRSAI, 120 (1990), 120–25.

Muhr 2001: Kay Muhr. ‘Territories, people & place names in Co. Armagh’, 295–332, A.J. Hughes & W. Nolan (eds), Armagh: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications2001.

Muhr 2002: Kay Muhr. ‘The early place names of Co. Armagh’, Seanchas Ard Mhacha, 19 no.1 (2002),1–54.

Murphy 1897: C. Murphy. ‘Parish of Cill-na-Martra: its ancient topography and traditions’, JCHAS, 3 (1897), 275–90.

Murphy 1895: Denis Murphy (ed.). Triumphalia chronologicia monasterii Sanctae Crucis in Hibernia: de Cisterciensium Hibernorum viris illustribus. Dublin, 1895.

Murphy 1993: Donald Murphy. ‘Monasterboice: secrets from the air’. Arch Ire,7 no.3 (Autumn 1993), 15–17.

Murphy 1914: Michael A. Murphy. ‘The Royal visitation, 1615: Diocese of Killaloe’, Archivium Hibernicum, 3 (1914), 210–26.

Murphy 2008: D. Murphy. ‘Tuath na Dromann: A History of Cill na Martra’.

Murray 2004: Griffin Murray. ‘The hidden power of the Irish crosier’, Arch Ire., 18 no.1 (Spring 2004), 24–7.

Murray 2005: Griffin Murray. ‘A note on the provenance of the Breac Maodhóg’, JRSAI, 135 (2005), 136–8.

Neary 1914: J. Neary. ‘On the history and antiquities of the parish of Dunmore in the baronies of Dunmore and Ballymoe, Co. Galway’, JGAHS, 8 (1913–4), 94–128.

Ní Bhrolcháin 1982: Muireann Ní Bhrolcháin. ‘The manuscript tradition of the Banshenchas’, Ériu, 33 (1982), 109–35.

Ní Bhrolcháin 2005a: Muireann Ní Bhrolcháin. ‘Leinster, Book of’, 272–4, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Ní Bhrolcháin 2005b: Muireann Ní Bhrolcháin. ‘Máel-Ísu Ua Brolcháin (d. 1086)’, 307–08, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Ní Chon Uladh 1999: Póilín Ní Chon Uladh. ‘The Rígdál at Terryglass, 737 AD’. Tipperary Hist. Jnl., (1999), 190–6.

Ní Chon Uladh 2000: Póilín Ní Chon Uladh. ‘Kilranelagh and the Uí Máil’. Wicklow Hist. Soc. Jnl., 2 no 6 (June 2000), 15–20.

Ní Dhonnchadha 1982: Máirín Ní Dhonnchadha. ‘Guarantor list of Cáin Adomnáin, 697 AD’, Peritia, 1 (1982), 178–215.

Ní Ghabhláin 1995: Sinéad Ní Ghabhláin. ‘Church and community in medieval Ireland: the Diocese of Kilfenora’. JRSAI, 125 (1995), 61–84.

Ní Ghrádaigh 2003: Jenifer Ní Ghrádaigh. ‘The Romanesque doorway at St Multose’s church, Kinsale’. JRSAI, 133 (2003), 68–77.

Ní Ghrádaigh 2006: Jenifer Ní Ghrádaigh. ‘Scattery Island’s forgotten Romanesque’. Arch Ire., 20 no 4 (Winter 2006), 26–30.

Nic Aonghusa 1991: Bairbre Nic Aonghusa. ‘The monastic hierarchy in twelfth-century Ireland: the case of Kells’. Ríocht na Midhe, 8 no 3 (1990–1), 3–20.

Nicholls 1969: K.W. Nicholls. ‘Some place-names from Pontificia Hibernica’, Dinnseanchas, 3 (1969), 85–98.

Nicholls 1973: K.W. Nicholls. ‘A list of the monasteries in Connacht 1577’. JGAHS,33 (1972–3), 28–43.

Nicholls 1984: K.W. Nicholls. ‘The land of the Leinstermen’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 535–58.

Nicholls 1986: K.W. Nicholls. ‘Medieval Leinster dynasties: three topographical notes’, Peritia, 5 (1986), 409–15.

Nolan 1901: J.P. Nolan. ‘Galway castles and their owners in 1574’, JGAHS,1 (1900–1), 109–23.

Nolan 1984: Tom Nolan. ‘Listing of monastic possessions in Waterford, c.1540’, Decies,26 (1984), 45–51.

Norman & St Joseph 1969: E.R. Norman & J.K. St Joseph. The early development of Irish society: the evidence of aerial photography. Cambridge: University Press, 1969.

Ó Briain 1940: Felim Ó Briain. ‘The hagiography of Leinster’, 454–64, in J. Ryan (ed.), Féilsgríbhinn Eoin Mhic Néill. Dublin: Three Candles, 1940.

Ó Briain 1978: Felim Ó Briain. ‘Brigitana’, edited from unpublished work by Frederic MacDonncha, OFM. Zeitschrift für Celtische Philologie, 36 (1978), 112–37.

O’Brien 1994: Caimin O’Brien. ‘New finds from County Offaly’. Arch Ire.,8 no.1 (Spring 1994), 16–17.

O’Brien & Fitzpatrick 1998: Caimin O’Brien & Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. Archaeological Inventory of Co Offaly. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1998.

O’Brien & Sweetman 1997: Caimin O’Brien & P.D. Sweetman. Archaeological Inventory of County Offaly. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1997.

O’Brien 1970: D. M. O’Brien. ‘A list of some archaeological sites on the Berehaven Peninsula’, JCHAS, 75 (1970), 12–24.

O’Brien 1988: Elizabeth O’Brien. ‘Churches of South-East Co Dublin, seventh to twelfth centuries’, 504–24, in G. MacNiocaill & P.F. Wallace (ed.), Keimelia: studies in memory of Tom Delaney. Galway: University Press, 1988.

O’Brien 1993: Elizabeth O’Brien. ‘Contacts between Ireland and Anglo-Saxon England in the seventh century’, 93–102, in William Filmer-Sankey (ed.), Anglo-Saxon studies in archaeology and history. Oxford: University Committee for Archaeology, 1993.

O’Byrne 1856: Daniel O’Byrne. The history of Queen’s County.Dublin, 1856.

Ó Caoimh 2000: Tomás Ó Caoimh. Clonfert to Mount Brandon 2000: a pilgrim’s guide. Tralee: Clonfert to Brandon Working Group, 2000.

Ó Carragáin 2003: Tomás Ó Carragáin, ‘A landscape converted: archaeology and early church organisation on Iveragh and Dingle, Ireland’, 127–49, in Martin Carver (ed), The Cross goes north: processes of conversion in Northern Europe, AD 300–1300. York & Woodbridge:York Medieval Press with Boydell & Brewer, 2003.

Ó Carragáin et al 2005: Tomás Ó Carragáin, Jerry O’Sullivan & Tomás Ó Caoimh. ‘A flying visit to Bishop’s Island, Co Clare’. Arch Ire., 19 no.1 (Spring 2005), 34–7.

O'Carroll 2000: Ellen O’Carroll. ‘Ireland’s earliest crozier’. Arch Ire., 14 no.2 (Summer 2000), 24–5.

Ó Cearbhaill 2007: Pádraig Ó Cearbhaill. Cill i logainmneacha Chontae Thiobraid Árann. Dublin: Oifig na Logainmneacha, 2007.

Ó Cíobháin 1984: Breandán Ó Cíobháin. Toponomia Hibernia: Barony of Dunkerron South/Barúntacht Dhún Ciaráin Theas3; Paróiste Chill Chrócháin/ Kilcrohane parish, 2: Leath thoir/East half. Dublin: An Foras Duibhneach, 1984.

Ó Cíobháin 1985: Breandán Ó Cíobháin. Toponomia Hibernia: Barony of Dunkerron South/Barúntacht Dhún Ciaráin Theas4; Paróiste an Teampaill Nua/ Templenoe parish. Dublin: An Foras Duibhneach, 1985.

O’Connell 2004: Aidan O’Connell. ‘A bivallate ecclesiastical enclosure at Kill St Laurence, Co Waterford’. Decies, 60 (2004).

O’Connell 1937: P. O’Connell. The Diocese of Kilmore: its history and antiquities. Dublin, 1937.

O’Connor 1998: Gabriel O’Connor. ‘Cloonfush, Co Galway’, 69–92, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

O’Connor 1985: Nessa O’Connor. ‘A cross-slab (Beggerin, Co Wexford)’, 142–3, in Michael Ryan (ed), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Corráin 1968: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘Alltraige’, JKAHS, 2 (1968), 27–37.

Ó Corráin 1972: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. Ireland before the Normans. Dublin, 1972.

Ó Corráin 1973: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘Dál Cais: church and dynasty’, Ériu, 24 (1973), 52–63.

Ó Corráin 1979: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘Onomata’, Ériu, 30 (1979), 165–80.

Ó Corráin 1981: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘The early Irish churches: some aspects of organisation’, 327–41, in Donnchadh Ó Corráin (ed), Irish Antiquity: essays and studies presented to Professor M.J. O’Kelly. Cork: Tower Books, 1981.

Ó Corráin 2005: Donnchadh Ó Corráin. ‘Ireland c.800: aspects of society’, 549–608, in Dáibhí Ó Cróinín (ed), A New History of Ireland,I: Prehistoric and Early Ireland. Oxford: OUP, 2005.

Ó Cróinín 1982: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín. ‘Mo-Sinu moccu Min and the computus at Bangor’, Peritia, 1 (1982), 281–95.

Ó Cróinín 1983: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín. ‘The Irish provenance of Bede’s computus’, Peritia, 2 (1983), 229–47.

Ó Cróinín 1984: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín. ‘Rath Melsigi, Willibrord, and the earliest Echternach manuscripts’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 17–49.

Ó Cróinín 1995: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín. Early Medieval Ireland 400 to 1200. London & New York: Longmans, 1995.

Ó Cróinín 2000: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín, ‘Three weddings and a funeral: re-writing Irish political history in the tenth century’, 212–23, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Ó Cróinín 2005: Dáibhí Ó Cróinín. ‘Armagh, Book of’, 30–1, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. New York & London, 2005.

Ó Crualaoich 2005: Conchúr Ó Crualaoich. ‘Saint Vogue’s of Carne revisited’. The Past: the organ of the Uí Cinsealaigh Historical Society, 26 (2005), 42–8.

Ó Crualaoich 2006: Conchúr Ó Crualaoich. ‘Shemogues and St Awaries’. The Past: the organ of the Uí Cinsealaigh Historical Society, 27 (2006), 39–49.

O’Daly 1852: Aenghus O’Daly. The tribes of Ireland - a satire. with an introduction to the history of satire in Ireland, by John O’Donovan. Dublin: J. O’Daly, 1852.

Ó Danachair 1958: Caoimhín Ó Danachair. ‘The holy wells of Co Dublin’. Reportorium Novum, 2 no. 1 (1958), 68–87.

Ó Danachair 1960: Caoimhín Ó Danachair. ‘The holy wells of Co Dublin: a supplementary list’. Reportorium Novum, 2 no. 2 (1960), 233–5.

Ó Donnchadha 2007: Brian Ó Donnchadha. ‘The oldest church in Ireland’s oldest town’. Arch Ire., 21 no.1 (Spring 2007), 8–10.

O’Donoghue 1986: B. O’Donoghue. Parish histories and placenames of West Cork. Cork (privately publ.), 1986.

O’Donovan 1843: John O’Donovan. The tribes and customs of Hy-Many, commonly called O'Kelly's country; published from the Book of Lecan, with a translation and notes. Dublin, 1843 (new ed. Cork : Tower Books, 1976).

O’Donovan 1844: John O’Donovan. The genealogies, tribes and customs of Hy Fiachrach. Dublin, 1844.

O’Donovan 1856: John O’Donovan. Notes and indices to Annals of the kingdom of Ireland by the Four Masters. ed and transby John O'Donovan. Dublin: Hodges, Smith and Co., 1856

O’Donovan 1995: P. F. O’Donovan. Archaeological Inventory of Co. Cavan. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair 1995.

O’Donovan 2009: Edmond O’Donovan. ‘Excavations at St Nahi’s, Taney’, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2009, forthcoming.

Ó Dubhshláine 2007: Mícheál Ó Dubhshláine. Inis Mhic Uibhleáin. Dingle: Brénainn, 2007.

Ó Dubhthaigh 1962: Bearnárd Ó Dubhthaigh. ‘The ancient graveyard of Rackwallace, Co Monaghan’, Clogher Record, 4 no.3 (1962), 155–62.

O’Dwyer 1981: Peter O’Dwyer. Célí Dé: spiritual reform in Ireland 750–900. 2nded. Dublin: Editions Tailliúra, 1981.

Ó hÉailidhe 1957: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘The Rathdown slabs’. JRSAI, 87 (1957), 75–88.

Ó hÉailidhe 1958: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Fassaroe and associated crosses’. JRSAI, 88 (1958), 101–10.

Ó hÉailidhe 1960: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Bullauns at Killarney, Co Kerry’. JRSAI, 90 (1960), 83–4.

Ó hÉailidhe 1961: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘The Valley of Glenasmole’. Dublin Historical Record, 16 no. 4 (1961), 109–30.

Ó hÉailidhe 1967: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘The crosses and slabs at St Berrihert’s Kyle, in the Glen of Aherlow’. 102–26 in Etienne Rynne (ed), North Munster Studies: papers in honour of Mgr Michael Moloney. Limerick: Thomond Archaeological Society, 1967.

Ó hÉailidhe 1973: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Early Christian grave-slabs in the Dublin region’. JRSAI, 103 (1973), 51–64.

Ó hÉailidhe 1975: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Third report on monuments and sites of archaeological interest in County Dublin’. An Foras Forbartha. March 1975.

Ó hÉailidhe 1982: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Three unrecorded early grave-slabs in County Dublin’. JRSAI, 112 (1982), 139–41.

Ó hÉailidhe 1983: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘The cross of Kiltuck’. Rathmichael Historical Record, (1982–3), 50–6.

Ó hÉailidhe 1984: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘Decorated stones at Kilgobbin, County Dublin’. JRSAI, 114 (1984), 142–4.

Ó hÉailidhe 1987: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe. ‘The cross-base at Oldcourt, near Bray, Co Wicklow’, 98–110, in E. Rynne (ed), Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

Ó hÉailidhe & Prendergast 1977: Pádraig Ó hÉailidhe & Ellen Prendergast. ‘Two unrecorded grave-slabs in Co. Dublin’. JRSAI, 107 (1977), 139–42.

O’Farrell 2004: Fergus O’Farrell. ‘The monks of Dysert O’Dea’. Arch Ire., 18 no. 3 (Autumn 2004), 26–7.

Ó Fiaich 1969: Tomás Ó Fiaich. ‘The church of Armagh under lay control’, Seanchas Ard Mhacha, 5 no.1 (1969),75–127.

O’Flaherty 1684: Roderic O’Flaherty (Ruaidhrí Ó Flaithbheartaigh). A chorographical description of West or h-Iar Connaught written AD 1684. ed. J. Hardiman. Dublin 1846.

O’Flaherty 1685: Roderic O’Flaherty (Ruaidhrí Ó Flaithbheartaigh). Ogygia, seu, Rerum Hibernicarum chronologia. London, 1685.

O’Flanagan 1927: Michael O’Flanagan. Letters containing information relative to the antiquities of the County Galway, collected during progress of the Ordnance Survey in 1839. Typescript in 3 Vols. Bray, 1927.

O’Flanagan 1929: Michael O’Flanagan. Letters containing information relative to the antiquities of the County Waterford, collected during progress of the Ordnance Survey in 1839. Typescript. Bray, 1929.

O’Flanagan 1930: Michael O’Flanagan. Letters containing information relative to the antiquities of the County Tipperary, collected during progress of the Ordnance Survey in 1840. Typescript in 3 Vols. Bray, 1930.

O’Flanagan 1933: Michael O’Flanagan. Letters containing information relative to the antiquities of the County Laois, collected during progress of the Ordnance Survey in 1840. Typescript in 2 Vols. Bray, 1933.

Ó Floinn 1985a: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘A bronze and silver shrine: Soiscél Mo-Laisse (Devinish, Co Fermanagh)’, 161–3, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1985b: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘The shrine of the Stowe Missal (Lothra, Co Tipperary)’, 163–5, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1985c: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘The shrine of St Lachtain’s arm (Donaghmore, Co Cork)’, 169–70, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1985d: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘A bronze cross (Cloyne, Co Cork)’, 171–2, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1985e: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘The shrine of the Book of Díoma’ (Roscrea, Co Tipperary)’, 173, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1985f: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘The Domhnach Airgid (Clones, Co Monaghan)’, 176–7, in Michael Ryan (ed.), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ó Floinn 1990: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘A fragmentary house-shaped shrine from Clonard, Co Meath’. Jnl. Irish Archaeology, 5 (1989–90), 49–55.

Ó Floinn 1990b: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘Two ancient bronze bells from Rath Blathmac, Co Clare’. NMAJ, 32 (1990), 19–31.

Ó Floinn 1995: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘Clonmacnoise: art and patronage in the early medieval period’. 251–60 in Cormac Bourke (ed), From the Isles of the North: Early Medieval art in Ireland and Britain. Belfast, 1995.

Ó Floinn 1997: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘Insignia Columbae I’. 136–61, in Cormac Bourke (ed.), Studies in the cult of Saint Columba. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1997.

Ó Floinn 1998: Raghnall Ó Floinn. ‘Some decorated stone sculpture from Liathmore, Co Tipperary’, 193–201, in Conleth Manning (ed), Dublin and beyond the Pale: studies in honour of Patrick Healy. Bray: Wordwell, 1998.

O’Hanlon 1875: J. O’Hanlon. Lives of the Irish saints,with special festivals, and the commemorations of holy persons, compiled from calendars, martyrologies and various sources, relating to the ancient church history of Ireland.10 vols. Dublin, 1875.

O’Hanlon & O’Leary 1907: John O’Hanlon & Edward O’Leary. History of the Queen's County. Dublin: Sealy, Bryers & Walker, 1907.

O’Hara 1982: B. O’Hara (ed.). Mayo: Aspects of its heritage. Galway, 1982.

O’Keeffe 1992: Tadhg O’Keeffe. ‘Romanesque architecture and sculpture at Ardmore’, 73–104 in W. Nolan and T.P. Power (eds), Waterford: history and society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1992.

O’Keeffe 1992b: Tadhg O’Keeffe. ‘Early Christian hermitage discovered on Omey Island’. Arch Ire,6 no.3 (Autumn 1992), 5.

O’Keeffe 1994: Tadhg O’Keeffe. ‘Lismore and Cashel: reflections on the beginnings of Romanesque architecture in Munster’, JRSAI,124 (1994), 118–52.

O’Keeffe 1994b: Tadhg O’Keeffe. ‘Omey and the sands of time’. Arch Ire,8 no.1 (Spring 1994), 14–17.

O’Keeffe 2004: Tadhg O’Keeffe. Ireland’s Round Towers: Buildings, Rituals and Landscapes of the Early Irish Church. Stroud: Tempus, 2004

O’Kelly 1952: M.J. O’Kelly. ‘St Gobnet’s House, Ballyvourney, Co Cork’, JCHAS, 57 (1952), 18–40.

O’Kelly 1957: M.J. O’Kelly. ‘Church Island, near Valencia, Co Kerry’, PRIA, 59C (1958), 57–136.

O’Kelly 1974: M.J. O’Kelly. ‘Monastic sites in the west of Ireland’, Scottish Archaeological Forum, 5 (1974), 1–16.

O’Kelly 1975: M.J. O’Kelly. Archaeological Survey and Excavation of St. Vogue’s Church,Carnmore, Co. Wexford.Dublin: 1975

O’Kelly 1985: Owen O’Kelly. The placenames of Co Kilkenny. Kilkenny, 1985.

O’Laverty 1878: James O’Laverty. An historical account of the Diocese of Down and Connor, ancient and modern. Vol. 1. Dublin, 1878.

O’Laverty 1880: James O’Laverty. An historical account of the Diocese of Down and Connor, ancient and modern. Vol. 2. Dublin, 1880.

O’Laverty 1884: James O’Laverty. An historical account of the Diocese of Down and Connor, ancient and modern. Vol. 3. Dublin, 1884.

O’Laverty 1887: James O’Laverty. An historical account of the Diocese of Down and Connor, ancient and modern. Vol. 4. Dublin, 1887.

O’Laverty 1899: James O’Laverty. ‘The little city of Bright, County Down’, UJA, 5 (1899), 81–3.

Ó Maitiú 1998: Séamas Ó Maitiú. ‘Lacken, Co Wicklow’, 203–19, in B. Ó Dálaigh, D.A. Cronin & P. Connell (eds), Irish Townlands: studies in local history. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1998.

Ó Muraíle 1980: Nollaig Ó Muraíle, ‘Doire na bhFlann alias Doire Eidneach’, Studia Hibernica, 20 (1980), 111–40.

Ó Muraíle 1997: Nollaig Ó Muraíle. ‘The Columban onomastic legacy’, 193–218, in Cormac Bourke (ed), Studies in the cult of St Columba. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1997.

Ó Murchadha 1960: C. Ó Murchadha. ‘Some obsolete place-names in Cork Harbour’, JCHAS, 65 (1960), 18–23.

Ó Murchadha 1967: D. Ó Murchadha. History of Crosshaven. Cork: Historical Guides Committee, 1967.

Ó Murchadha 1980: Domhnall Ó Murchadha. ‘Rubbings taken of the inscriptions on the Cross of the Scriptures at Clonmacnois’. JRSAI, 110 (1980), 47–51.

Ó Murchadha 2001: Domhnall Ó Murchadha. ‘The Cork Decretal Letter of 1199 AD’, JCHAS, 106 (2001), 79–100.

Ó Murchadha & Ó Murchú 1988: Domhnall Ó Murchadha & Giollamuire Ó Murchú. ‘Fragmentary inscriptions from the West Cross at Durrow, the South Cross at Clonmacnois and the Cross of Kinnitty’. JRSAI, 118 (1988), 53–66.

Ó Néill 2004: John Ó Néill. ‘Excavations at Longford Street Litle, Dublin: an archaeological approach to Dubh Linn’, 73–90, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, V. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

O’Neill 2002: Michael O’Neill. ‘The medieval parish churches in Co Meath’, JRSAI, 132 (2002), 1–56.

O’Neill, T 2004: Tim O’Neill. ‘The monastic site of Aghaboe, Co Laois’, Ossory, Laois and Leinster, 1 (2004).

O’Reilly 1901: P.J. O’Reilly. ‘the Christian sepulchral leacs and free-standing crosses of the Dublin half-barony of Rathdown’. JRSAI, 31 (1901), 134–61, 246–58, 385–403.

O’Reilly 1902: P.J. O’Reilly. ‘Taney and its patron’. JRSAI, 32 (1902), 377–84.

O’Reilly 2002: Stan O’Reilly. ‘Naoi and St Ernene: the foundation of Rathnew’. Wicklow Hist. Soc. Jnl., 3 no 1 (July 2002), 14–15.

Ó Riain 1974: Pádraig Ó Riain. ‘The materials and provenance of Buile Shuibne’, Éigse, 15 (1974), 173–88.

Ó Riain 1975: Pádraig Ó Riain. ‘The composition of the Irish section of the Calendar of the Saints’, Dinnseanshas, 6 (1975), 77–92.

Ó Riain 1976: Pádraig Ó Riain. ‘St Findbarr: a study in the cult’. JCHAS, 72 (1976), 63–82.

Ó Riain 1985: Pádraig Ó Riain. notes and topographical index to Corpus Genealogiarum Sanctorum Hiberniae, ed. P. Ó Riain. Dublin: D.I.A.S., 1985.

Ó Riain 1995: Pádraig Ó Riain. notes and topographical index to Beatha Bharrae, ed. P. Ó Riain. London: Irish Texts Soc., 1995.

Ó Riain 2004: Pádraig Ó Riain. ‘Dublin’s oldest book? A list of saints ‘made in Germany’’, 52–72, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, V. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Ó Riain 2005: Padraig Ó Riain. ‘St Finbar and Early Christian settlement’, 79–84 in J. Crowley et al (eds), Atlas of Cork City. Cork, 2005.

Ó Riain 2008: Padraig Ó Riain. ‘The Lives of St. Ciarán, Patron of the Diocese of Ossory.’, Ossory, Laois and Leinster, 3 (2008), 25–42.

Ó Riain & Murray 2005: Pádraig Ó Riain & Griffin Murray. ‘The Cross of Cong: some recent discoveries’, Arch Ire., 19 no 1 (Spring 2005), 18–21.

Ó Riain & Murray 2006: Pádraig Ó Riain & Griffin Murray. ‘The Bann bell-shrine crest: a note on its provenance and inscription’, JRSAI, 136 (2006), 170–72.

Ó Riain-Raedel 2001: Dagmar Ó Riain-Raedel. ‘Reform and renewal: Ireland and Europe in the early twelfth century’, Arch Ire., 15 no 3 (Autumn 2001), 25–7.

Ó Ríordáin 1932: S. P. Ó Ríordáin. ‘The place names and antiquities of Kinalmeaky barony, County Cork’, JCHAS, 37 (1932), 1–7, 98–104.

O’Rorke 1878: T. O’Rorke. The History of Sligo: town and county. Vol. 1. Dublin, 1878.

O’Rorke 1890: T. O’Rorke. The History of Sligo: town and county. Vol. 2. Dublin, 1890 (reprint Sligo: Dodd's Antiquarian, 1986).

Orschel 2001: Vera Orschel. ‘The ecclesiastical site of Mag nÉo na Sacsan in the seventh and eighth enturies’. Peritia, 15 (2001).

O’Shea 1995: Mary O’Shea. ‘An Early Christian site at Muckalee, Co Kilkenny’. Old Kilkenny Review, 47 (1995).

O’Sullivan 1983: Ann O’Sullivan. ‘Saint Breccán of Clare’, Celtica, 15 (1983), 128–39.

O’Sullivan & Sheehan 1996: Aidan O’Sullivan and John Sheehan. The Iveragh peninsula: an archaeological survey of South Kerry/Suirbhé seandálaíochta Uíbh Ráthaigh. Cork, 1996.

O’Toole 1932: Edward J. O’Toole. ‘Antiquities of Co Carlow’. JKAHS, 9 (1932), 71–90.

O’Toole 1933: Edward J. O’Toole. ‘The holy wells of Co Carlow’. Béaloideas, 4 no. 1 (June 1933), 3–23; no. 2 (Dec 1933), 107–30.

O’Toole 1934: Edward J. O’Toole, 'Stone with cup and circle markings, Tinnacarrig, parish of Ullard, Co. Carlow', JRSAI 64 (1934), 263.

O’Toole 1938: Edward J. O’Toole, Miscellanea, JRSAI 68 (1938), 304.

Otway-Ruthven 1964: A.J. Otway-Ruthven. ‘Parochial development in the rural deanery of Skreen’, JRSAI, 94 (1964), 111–22.

Paterson 1982: John Paterson. Meath and Kildare: an historical guide. Kingscourt, Co Cavan: George Corrigan, 1982.

Paterson 1948: T.G.F. Paterson. ‘The Cult of the Well in Co. Armagh’, UJA,11 (1948), 127–30.

Paterson & Davies 1939: T.G.F. Paterson and Oliver Davies. Carlingford Church Tower’. CLAHJ, IX, 3, (1939), 246–7

Paterson & Davies 1940: T.G.F. Paterson and Oliver Davies. ‘The Churches of Armagh’, UJA,3(1940), 82–103.

Patterson 1871: W.H. Patterson. Proceedings: ‘Cross slabs at Killaghtee and Bruckless’, JRSAI, 11 (1870–1), 466–70.

Patterson 1883: W.H. Patterson. Proceedings: ‘Ancient sculptured stones at Maghera, County Down’, JRSAI, 16 Part 1 (1883), 20–22.

Patterson 1902: W.H. Patterson. Miscellanea: ‘Maghera, county of Down’, UJA,8(1902), 198–9.

Pettiau 2001: Hérold Pettiau. ‘The officials of the Church of Armagh in the early and central middle ages, to AD 1200’, 121–86, in A.J. Hughes & W. Nolan (eds), Armagh: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications2001.

Petrie 1845: George Petrie. ‘Ecclesiastical architecture of Ireland: the origin and uses of the round towers of Ireland’. Transactions of the Royal Irish Academy, 1845. (Co Galway 234–43; 420, 425; Co Mayo, Fallmore).

Petrie 1839: George Petrie. On the history and antiquities of Tara Hill. Royal Academy Transactions, 18. Dublin: 1839.

Petrie 1878: George Petrie. Christian inscriptions in the Irish language, edited by Margaret Stokes, 2 Vols. Dublin: 1878.

Picard 2000: Jean-Michel Picard, ‘Princeps and principatus in the early Irish church’, 146–60, in Alfred Smyth (ed), Seanchas: papers in Early Irish Archaeology, History and folklore in honour of F.J. Byrne. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Pinkman 1942: J. Pinkman. ‘Some place names in Co. Leitrim’, JCHAS, 11 no. 8, (1942), 34–46.

Potterton 2005: Michael Potterton. Medieval Trim: history and archaeology. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2005.

Power 1992: D. Power et al. Archaeological Inventory of County Cork. Vol 1: West Cork. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 1992.

Power 1994: D. Power et al. Archaeological Inventory of County Cork. Vol 2: East and South Cork. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 1994.

Power 1997: D. Power et al. Archaeological Inventory of County Cork. Vol 3: Mid Cork. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 1997.

Power 2000: D. Power et al. Archaeological Inventory of County Cork. Vol. 4 (Parts 1 and 2): North Cork. Dublin: Oifig an tSolathair, 2000.

Power 1890–1: P. Power. ‘The ancient churches of County Waterford’, JRSAI, 20–1 (1890–1), 475–82.

Power 1895: P. Power. ‘Ancient ruined churches of County Waterford’, WAJ,1 (1895), 133–41; 162–72; 247–53.

Power 1896: P. Power. ‘Ancient ruined churches of County Waterford’, WAJ,2 (1896), 2–15; 195–208.

Power 1897: P. Power. ‘Ancient ruined churches of County Waterford’, WAJ,3 (1897), 3–12; 72–8; 216–27.

Power 1898: P. Power. ‘Ancient ruined churches of County Waterford’, WAJ,4 (1898), 83–95; 195–219.

Power 1906: P. Power. ‘The place-names of the Decies’, WAJ, 9 (1906),12–39; 80–106; 154–70; 228–65.

Power 1906b: P. Power. 'On the four or five “stone chalices” from early church sites in the Decies', WAJ, 9 (1906), 143–9.

Power 1907: P. Power. ‘The place-names of the Decies: barony of Glenahiery’, WAJ, 10 (1907), 263–310.

Power (P) 1932: Patrick Power. Críchad an Chaoilli: being the topography of ancient Fermoy.Dublin & Cork, 1932.

Power (P) 1932b: Patrick Power. Ogham Stones, University College Cork. Cork, 1932.

Power (P) 1937: Patrick Power. Waterford and Lismore: a compendious history of the united dioceses. Cork, 1937.

Power (P) 1938: Patrick Power. ‘Some old churches of Decies’. JRSAI, 68 (1938), 55–68.

Power (P) 1952: Patrick Power. ThePlacenames of the Decies. 2nded. Cork, 1952.

Power 1989: P.C. Power. History of South Tipperary. Cork, 1989.

Price 1940: Liam Price. ‘The antiquities and placenames of South Co. Dublin’, Dublin Historical Reccord, 2 no. 4 (1940), 121–33.

Price 1945–67: Liam Price. The placenames of Co Wicklow. 7 fascicules. Dublin: DIAS, 1945–67.

Price 1968: Liam Price. ‘Belach Feile’, Dinnseanchas3 (1968), 6–11.

Raftery 1967: Barry Raftery. ‘A cross-inscribed stone from Co Tipperary’. NMAJ, 10 (1967), 219–21.

Raftery 1976: Barry Raftery. ‘The hillfort at Belmont in County Galway’, JGAHS, 35 (1976), 89–95.

Raftery 1963: Joseph Raftery. ‘National Museum of Ireland archaeological acquisitions in the year 1961’, JRSAI, 93(1963), 115–133.

Raftery et al 1967: Joseph Raftery, Breandán Ó Ríordáin & Etienne Rynne. ‘National Museum of Ireland archaeological acquisitions in the year 1964’, JRSAI, 97(1967), 1–28.

Ramsey 2001: Greer Ramsey. ‘Artefacts, archaeology and Armagh’, 1–42, in A.J. Hughes & W. Nolan (eds), Armagh: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 2001.

Read et al 2005: Christopher Read, Thomas Finan & Kevin Barton. ‘Initial findings at Kilteasheen, Knockvicar, Co Roscommon’. Arch Ire., 19 no 3 (Autumn 2005), 18–20.

Redmond & McGuinness 1993: Marcus Redmond & David McGuinness. ‘An unrecorded Tau cross at Dalkey, Co Dublin’. JRSAI, 123 (1993), 167–9.

Reeves 1847: William Reeves. Ecclesiastical Antiquities of Down, Connor, and Dromore. Dublin, 1847 (reprinted 1992).

Reeves 1857: William Reeves. Notes to edition of The Life of St Columba, founder of Hy. Dublin & Edinburgh, 1857.

Reeves 1883–4: William Reeves. ‘The stone crosses of Glenarb, Co Tyrone’, JRSAI, 16 (1883–4) 428–30.

Reeves 1896–7: William Reeves. ‘The Ancient churches of Armagh’, UJA, 2 (1896–7), 196–204.

Reeves 1897–8: William Reeves. ‘The Ancient churches of Armagh’, UJA, 3 (1897–8), 193–5.

Reeves 1898–9: William Reeves. ‘The Ancient churches of Armagh’, UJA, 4 (1898–9), 205–17.

Richardson 1980: Hilary Richardson. ‘Derrynavlan and other Early Church treasures’. JRSAI, 110 (1980), 92–115.

Robinson 1980: Tim Robinson. The Aran Islands (Oileáin Árann), Co. Galway, Éire: a map and guide. Kilronan, Co. Galway: T.D.Robinson, 1980.

Robinson 1985: Tim Robinson 1985.Mapping south Connemara: parts 1–29, Cashel, Carna, Cill Chiaráin: reprinted with additions and amendments from articles published in The Connacht Tribune, betw November 1983 and March 1985.Roundstone, Co. Galway: Folding Landscapes, c.1985

Roe 1947: Helen M.Roe. ‘Two baptismal fonts in County Laoighis’, JRSAI, 67 pt 1 (1947), 81–83.

Roe 1954: Helen M. Roe. ‘Antiquities of the Archdiocese of Armagh, a Photographic Survey: part 1, the High Crosses of Co. Louth’, Seanchas Ardmhacha, Vol. 1 no. 1 (1954), 101–14.

Roe 1955: Helen M. Roe. ‘Antiquities of the Archdiocese of Armagh, a Photographic Survey: part 2, the High Crosses of Co. Armagh’, Seanchas Ardmhacha, Vol. 1 no. 2 (1955), 107–14.

Roe 1956: Helen M. Roe. ‘Antiquities of the Archdiocese of Armagh, a Photographic Survey: part 3, the High Crosses of east Tyrone’, Seanchas Ardmhacha, Vol. 2 no. 1 (1956), 79–89.

Roe 1959: Helen M. Roe. The high crosses of Kells. Dundalk: Co Louth Hist & Arch Soc, 1959. (2nd ed 1966).

Roe 1967: Helen M. Roe. ‘The Roscrea Pillar’, ed. Etienne Rynne, North Munster Studies: essays in commemoration of Monsignor Michael Moloney, Limerick: 1967, 127–32.

Roe 1981: Helen M. Roe. Monasterboice and its monuments. Dundalk: Co Louth Hist & Arch Soc, 1981. (2nd ed 1993, 3rded 2003).

Rogers 1988: Mary Rogers. Prospect of Tyrone. Dungannon, 1988.

Ronan 1927: Myles V. Ronan, ‘The ancient Churches of the deanery of Arklow’, JRSAI, 57 (1927), 100–116.

Ronan 1928: Myles V. Ronan, ‘The ancient churches of the deanery of Wicklow’, JRSAI, 58 (1928), 132–55.

Ronan 1942–3: Myles V. Ronan. ‘Tober Moling and Templeogue’, DHR, 5 (1942–3).

Ronan 1955–6: Myles V. Ronan. 'History of the diocese of Dublin, I: deanery of Taney’, Reportorium Novum, 1 (1955), 27–44; 1 (1956), 263–284.

Rowan 1979: Alistair Rowan. North west Ulster: the counties of Londonderry, Donegal, Fermanagh, and Tyrone. Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1979.

Ryan 1940: John Ryan. ‘The abbatial succession at Clonmacnoise’, 490–507, in J. Ryan (ed.), Féilsgríbhinn Eoin Mhic Néill. Dublin: Three Candles, 1940.

Ryan 1980: Michael Ryan. ‘An Early Christian hoard from Derrynaflan, Co Tipperary’. NMAJ, 22 (1980), 9–26.

Ryan 1985: Michael Ryan. ‘A bronze ecclesiasical figure (Aghaboe, Co Laois)’, 120, in Michael Ryan (ed), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ryan 1985b: Michael Ryan. ‘The Ardagh hoard: the silver Ardagh Chalice; the bronze chalice’, 124–7, in Michael Ryan (ed), Treasures of Ireland. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1985.

Ryan 1988: Michael Ryan. ‘Fine metalworking and early Irish monasteries: the archaeological evidence’, 33–48, in John Bradley (ed), Settlement and society in Medieval Ireland: studies presented to F.X. Martin, O.S.A. Kilkenny: Boethius Press, 1988.

Ryan 1997: Michael Ryan. ‘The Derrynaflan hoard and early Irish art’. Speculum, 72 (1997), 995–1017.

Ryan et al 2004: Michael Ryan, Kevin Mooney, Frank Prendergast & Barry Masterson. ‘Church Island: a description’, 106–24, in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Rynne et al 1996: Colin Rynne, Grellan Rourke & Jenny White-Marshall. ‘An early medieval monastic watermill on High Island’. Arch Ire., 10 no 3 (Autumn 1996), 24–7.

Rynne 2000: Colin Rynne. ‘Water power in medieval Ireland’, 1–50, in P. Squatriti (ed), Working with water in Medieval Europe: technology and resource-use. Leiden, Cologne & Boston: Brill, 2000.

Rynne 1967a: Etienne Rynne. ‘The Tau cross at Killinaboy: pagan or Christian?’. 146–65 in Etienne Rynne (ed), North Munster Studies: papers in honour of Mgr Michael Moloney. Limerick: Thomond Archaeological Society, 1967.

Rynne 1967b: Etienne Rynne. ‘Excavation of a church site at Clondalkin, Co Dublin’, JRSAI, 97 (1967), 29–37.

Rynne 1988: Etienne Rynne. ‘Some Preliminary Notes on the Excavation of Dolla Church, Kilboy, Co. Tipperary’. Tipp Hist Jnl, 6 (1988), 44–52.

Rynne 1998: Etienne Rynne. ‘The round tower, evil eye and holy well at Balla, Co Mayo’, 177–84, in Conleth Manning (ed), Dublin and beyond the Pale: studies in honour of Patrick Healy. Bray: Wordwell, 1998.

Sanderlin 1992: Sarah Sanderlin. ‘The monastery of Lismore, A.D. 638–1111’, 27–48 in W. Nolan and T.P. Power (eds), Waterford: history and society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1992.

Scally 1999: Georgina Scally. ‘The early monastery of High Island’. Arch Ireland, 13 no 1 (Spring 1999), 24–8.

Scully 1973: S. Scully. ‘Around historic Naul’. Dublin Historical Record, 28 (1972–3), 100–12.

Seeds 1910: John Seeds. ‘The churches of Loughinisland, County Down’, UJA, 16 (1910), 65–77.

Seymour 1912: John D. Seymour. ‘Liathmor Mochaemog’, NMAJ, 2 (1912), 127–33.

Seymour 1935: John D. Seymour, 'Drumreilly and its Clergy, 1401–1481', JRSAI, 65 (1935), 245–53.

Sharpe 1984: Richard Sharpe. ‘Some problems concerning the organisation of the church in Early Medieval Ireland’, Peritia, 3 (1984), 230–70.

Sharpe 1989: Richard Sharpe. ‘Quotuor sanctissimi episcopi: Irish saints before St Patrick’, 376–99, in D. Ó Corráin, L. Breatnach & K. R. McCone (eds.), Sages saints and storytellers: Celtic studies in honour of Professor James Carney. Maynooth, 1989.

Sharpe 1991: Richard Sharpe. Medieval Irish Saint’s Lives: an introduction to Vitae Sanctorum Hiberniae. Oxford: OUP, 1991.

Sharpe 1992: Richard Sharpe, ‘Churches and communities in Early Medieval Ireland: towards a pastoral model’, 81–109 in J. Blair & R. Sharpe (eds), Pastoral care before parish. Leicester,1992.

Sharpe 1997: Richard Sharpe. Introduction and notes to Adomnán, The Life of St Columba. Oxford: OUP, 1997.

Shearman 1872–3: John Francis Shearman, ‘Loca Patriciana – The Palladian Churches: Teach na Roman, Domnach Arda, Cell Fíné'. JRSAI, 12 (1872–3), 486–98.

Shearman 1876–7: John Francis Shearman. Loca Patriciana – No. X. The companions of Saint Fiacc. JRSAI,14 (1876–7), 55–95

Shearman 1882: John Francis Shearman. Loca Patriciana. Dublin : M. H. Gill, 1882.

Sheehan 1982: John Sheehan. ‘The early historic church-sites of north Clare’. NMAJ, 24 (1982), 29–47.

Sheehan 1988: John Sheehan. ‘A bronze bell-crest from the Rock of Cashel, Co Tipperary’. NMAJ, 30 (1988), 3–13.

Sheehan & Moore 1982: John Sheehan & Fionnbar Moore. ‘An unrecorded ecclesiastical enclosure at Ballyalban, Co Clare’. NMAJ, 23 (1981), 5–8.

Sheehy 1962–5: M. P. Sheehy (ed.). Pontificia Hibernia: Medieval Papal Chancery documents concerning Ireland, 640–1261. 2 Vols. Dublin, 1962–5.

Shine 1989: M. Shine. ‘The churches of Doneraile’, Mallow Field Club Jnl, 7 (1989), 45–67.

Sigerson 1857: G. Sigerson. ‘Antiquarian notes and queries: antiquities in Donegal’, UJA(1857), 253–4.

Simms 1978: Katharine Simms. ‘Guesting and feasting in Gaelic Ireland’. JRSAI, 108 (1978), 67–100.

Simms 1980: Katharine Simms. ‘The origins of the diocese of Clogher’. Clogher Record, 10 (1980), 180–98.

Simms & Simms 1990: Anngret Simms & Katharine Simms. Kells. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, IV. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 1990.

Simms & Fagan 1992: Anngret Simms & P. Fagan. ‘Villages in Co Dublin: their origins and inheritance’, 79–119 in F.H.A. Aalen & Kevin Whelan (eds), Dublin city and county from prehistory to the present: studies in honour of J.H. Andrews. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1992.

Simpson 2000: Linzi Simpson. ‘Forty years a’ digging: a preliminary synthesis of archaeological investigations in medieval Dublin’, 11–68, in Seán Duffy (ed), Medieval Dublin, I. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Smyth 1972: Alfred P. Smyth.‘The earliest Irish Annals: their first contemporary entries and the earliest centres of recording’, PRIA, 72C (1972), 1–48.

Smyth 1982: Alfred P. Smyth. Celtic Leinster: towards an historical geography of early Irish civilization AD 500 to 1600. Blackrock: Irish Academic Press, 1982.

Smyth 1954: James Smyth. ‘Salloo: notes and comments’, Clogher Record, 1 no.2 (1954), 63–4.

Sperber 1998: Ingrid Sperber. ‘The Life of St Ciarán of Saigir’, 131–52, in W. Nolan & T.P. O’Neill (eds), Offaly: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications1998.

Sperber 2001: Ingrid Sperber. ‘The Life of St Mo-Nenna or Darerca of Killevy’, in A.J. Hughes & W. Nolan (eds), Armagh: History and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications2001.

Stalley 1975: Roger Stalley. ‘Corcomroe Abbey’,JRSAI, 105 (1975),24–46.

Stalley 1987: Roger Stalley. The Cistercian monasteries of Ireland. London, 1987.

Stalley 2005: Roger Stalley. ‘Ecclesiastical arhitecture before 1169’, 714–43, in Dáibhí Ó Cróinín (ed), A New History of Ireland,I: Prehistoric and Early Ireland. Oxford: OUP, 2005.

Stevens 2006: Paul Stevens. ‘A monastic enclosure site at Clonfad, Co Westmeath’. Arch Ire., 20 no 2 (Summer 2006), 8–11.

Stokes 1872: Margaret Stokes (ed). Christian inscriptions in the Irish Language chiefly collected and drawn by George Petrie LlD. Dublin: Royal Historical and Archaeological Association of Ireland, 1872–1878.

Stokes 1893: Margaret Stokes. ‘St Beoc of Wexford and Lan Veoc in Brittany (d. June 15, 585)’, JRSAI, 23 (1893), 380–385.

Stokes 1868: Whitley Stokes. The life and labours in art and archaeology of George Petrie, LL.D., M.R.I.A. London: Fothair, 1868.

Stout 1984: Geraldine Stout. Archaeological survey of the barony of Ikerrin. Roscrea, 1984.

Stout 1992: Geraldine Stout & Matthew Stout. ‘Patterns in the past: Co Dublin 5000 BC to 1000 AD’. 5–25 in F.H.A. Aalen & Kevin Whelan (eds), Dublin city and county from prehistory to the present: studies in honour of J.H. Andrews. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1992.

Stout 1998: Matthew Stout & Geraldine Stout. 'Early Christian Settlement, Society and Economy In Offaly'. 29–92 in William Nolan and T.P. O'Neill (eds.), Offaly: history and Society. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1998.

Stubbs 1911: F.W. Stubbs. ‘Place Names in the County of Louth (N-Y)’. CLAHJ, II, 4, (1911), 350–62

Swan 1976: Leo Swan. ‘Excavations at Kilpatrick Churchyard, Killucan, Co Westmeath, 1973–1975’. Ríocht na Midhe, 6 no 2 (1976), 89–96.

Swan 1983: Leo Swan. ‘Enclosed ecclesiastical sites and their relevance to settlement patterns of the first millennium AD’, 269–94, in T. Reeves-Smyth & F. Hammond (eds), Landscape Archaeology in Ireland. Oxford, 1983.

Swan 1986: Leo Swan. ‘Newcastle Lyons: The Prehistoric & Early Christian Periods’. 1–10, in Peter O’Sullivan, (ed.) Newcastle Lyons. Dublin, 1986.

Swan 1987: Leo Swan. ‘A carved stone head from Kilaspuglonane, Co Clare’, 159–67, in E. Rynne (ed.), Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

Swan 1988: Leo Swan. ‘The early Christian ecclesiastical sites of Co Westmeath’, 3–31, in John Bradley (ed), Settlement and society in Medieval Ireland: studies presented to F.X. Martin, O.S.A. Kilkenny: Boethius Press, 1988.

Swan 1994–5: Leo Swan. ‘Excavations at Kilpatrick Churchyard, Killucan, Co Westmeath: Evidence for Bone, Antler & Iron-working’. Ríocht na Midhe, 9 no 1 (1994–5), 1–21.

Sweetman 1978: P.D. Sweetman ‘Excavation of Medieval 'field boundaries at Clonard, County Meath’. JRSAI 108, (1978), 10–22.

Sweetman 1984: P.D. Sweetman. ‘Archaeological Excavations at Kilcash Church, County Tipperary’, NMAJ, 26 (1984), 36–43.

Sweetman et al 1995: P.D. Sweetman, O. Alcock & B. Moran. Archaeological Inventory of County Laois. Dublin: Oifig an tSoláthair, 1995.

Swift 1994: Catherine Swift. ‘Tírechán’s motives in compiling the Collectanea: an alternative interpretation’, Ériu, 45 (1994), 53–82.

Swift 1997: Catherine Swift. Ogam stones and the earliest Irish Christians. Maynooth: Dept Old Irish, 1997.

Swift 1998: Catherine Swift. ‘Forts and fields: a study of ‘Monastic towns’ in 7thand 8thC Ireland’. Jnl of Ir Arch., 9 (1998), 105–26.

Swift 2004: Catherine Swift. ‘The earliest evidence for church organization in Ireland’, 61–78 in Ailbhe MacShamhráin (ed), The Island of St Patrick: Church and ruling dynasties in Fingal and Meath 400–1148. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2004.

Theiner 1864: A. Theiner (ed.). Vetera monumenta Hibernorum et Scotorum historiam illustrantia quae ex Vaticani, Neapolis ac Florentiae … 1216–1547. Rome, 1864.

Thomas 2005: Avril Thomas. Derry-Londonderry. Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 15. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy, 2005.

Thomas 1971: Charles Thomas. The Early Christian Archaeology of North Britain. Oxford, 1971

Timoney 1971: Martin A. Timoney. ‘Ancient monuments in the neighbourhood of Broadford, Co Clare, compiled by Lt Col William Audrey Bentley’, NMAJ, 14 (1971), 3–16.

Timoney 2002: Martin A. Timoney (ed.). A celebration of Sligo: first essays for Sligo Field Club. Sligo : Sligo Field Club, 2002.

Tohall 1948: P. Tohall. ‘The Dobhar-Chu tombstones of Glenade, Co. Leitrim (cemeteries of Congbhail and Cill-Ruisc)’, JRSAI, 78 (1948), 127–9.

Turner 1983: Kathleen Turner. If you seek monuments: a guide to the antiquities of the barony of Rathdown. Dublin: Rathdown Historical Society, 1983.

Ua Broin 1944: L. Ua Broin. ‘Clondalkin, Co Dublin and its neighbourhood’. JRSAI, 74 (1944), 191–218.

Valante 1998: Mary Valante. ‘Re-assessing the Irish monastic town’, Irish Historical Studies, 31 (1998), 1–18.

Waddell 1973: John Waddell. ‘An archaeological survey of Temple Brecan, Aran’, JGAHS, 33 (1973), 5–27.

Waddell 1976: John Waddell. ‘Kilcholan: an early ecclesiastical site on Inishmore, Aran’, JGAHS, 35 (1976), 86–8.

Waddell & Holland 1990: John Waddell & P. Holland. ‘’The Peakaun Site: Duignan’s 1944 investigations’, Tipp. Hist. Jnl., (1990), 165–86.

Wakeman 1874: W.F. Wakeman. ‘On the ecclesiastical antiquities of Cluain eois, now Clones, County of Monaghan’. JRSAI, 13 (1874–5), 327–40.

Wakeman 1890–1: W.F. Wakeman, 'On the earlier forms of inscribed Christian crosses found in Ireland', JRSAI21 (1890–1), 350–58.

Wakeman 1897: W.F. Wakeman. ‘Miscellanea: monument at Clonkeen, Co. Galway’, JRSAI,27 (1897), 71.

Wallace & Timoney 1987: P. Wallace & M.A. Timoney. ‘Carrowntemple, Co Sligo and its inscribed slabs’, 43–61 in Etienne Rynne (ed) Figures from the past: studies on figurative art in Christian Ireland in honour of Helen M. Roe. Dún Laoghaire, 1987.

Walsh 2000: John R. Walsh. ‘The early church’, 30–49, in Henry A. Jefferies & Ciarán Devlin (eds), History of the Diocese of Derry from earliest times. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.

Walsh 1940: Paul Walsh. ‘Meath in the Book of Rights’, 508–21 in John Ryan (ed.), Féilsgríbhinn Eoin Mhic Néill. Dublin: Three Candles, 1940.

Walsh 1957: Paul Walsh. The Placenames of Co Westmeath. Dublin: Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, 1957.

Walsh 1983: Paul Walsh. ‘The monastic settlement on Rathlin O’Birne Island’, JRSAI, 113 (1983), 53–66.

Walsh 1987: Paul Walsh. ‘The round tower at Nohaval Lower, Co Cork’, JRSAI, 117 (1987), 144–6.

Walsh 1991: Paul Walsh. History of Templemore and its environs. Templemore, Co. Tipperary, 1991.

Walton 1980: Julian Walton. ‘Pictorial decoration on east Waterford tombstones’, Decies,14 (1980), 67–83.

Walton 1992: Julian Walton. ‘Monumental inscriptions at Drumcannon, Co. Waterford’, Decies 46 (1992), 49–62 .

Waterman 1959: Dudley Waterman. ‘White Island Church: a note on a recent excavation’, UJA, 22 (1959), 65–6.

Waterman 1960: Dudley Waterman. ‘An Early Christian mortuary house at Saul, Co Down’, UJA, 23 (1960), 89–96.

Waterman 1967: Dudley Waterman. ‘The Early Christian churches and cemetery at Derry, Co Down’, UJA, 30 (1967), 53–75.

Waterman & Hamlin 1976: Dudley Waterman & Ann Hamlin. ‘Banagher Church, Co. Derry’, UJA, 39 (1976), 25–41.

Webster 1932: C. Webster. ‘The Diocese of Ross and its ancient churches’, PRIA, 40C (1932), 255–95.

Westropp 1895: Thomas J. Westropp. ‘Excursion - description of Aran Islands’, JRSAI, 25 (1895), 250–74.

Westropp 1900: Thomas J. Westropp. ‘The ancient churches of Co Clare and the ecclesiastical divisions of that county’. PRIA, 22C (1900), 100–80.

Westropp 1911–12: Thomas J. Westropp. ‘Notes on the larger cliff forts of the west coast of County Mayo’, PRIA, 29C (1911–2), 11–70.

Westropp 1915: Thomas J. Westropp. ‘Clare Island survey: 2, history and archaeology’. PRIA, 31C (1911–15), 1–78.

White 2006: Nora White. Compert Mongáin and three other early Mongán tales. Maynooth Medieval Irish Texts, V. Maynooth: Dept Old and middle Irish, 2006.

White-Marshall 1998: Jenny White-Marshall. ‘Illaunloughan, Co Kerry: an island hermitage’, 102–11 in M. Monk & J. Sheehan (eds), Early Medieval Munster: archaeology, history and society. Cork: University Press, 1998.

White-Marshall & Rourke 2000: Jenny White-Marshall & Grellan Rourke. ‘The secular origin of the monastic enclosure wall of High Island, Co Galway’. Arch Ire., 14 no 2 (Summer 2000), 30–4.

White-Marshall & Rourke 2000b: Jenny White-Marshall & Grellan D. Rourke. High Island: an Irish monastery in the Atlantic. Dublin: Wordwell, 2000.

White-Marshall & Walsh 1994: Jenny White-Marshall & Claire Walsh. ‘Illaunloughan: life and death on a small early monastic site’. Arch Ire., 8 no 4 (Winter 1994), 24–8.

White-Marshall & Walsh 2005: Jenny White-Marshall & Claire Walsh. Illaunloughan Island: an early medieval monastery in Co Kerry. Bray: Wordwell, 2005.

Williams 1990: Brian Williams. ‘The archaeology of Rathlin Island’. Arch Ire., 4 no. 2 (Summer 1990), 47–51.

Williams 2003: Brian Williams. ‘Antrim bell-shrine’. Arch Ire., 17 no. 3 (Autumn 2003), 38.

Williams 1897: Sterling de Courcy Williams. ‘The old graveyards in Durrow Parish’, JRSAI, 27 (1897), 128–47

Wood-Martin 1892: W.G. Wood-Martin. History of Sligo, county and town, from the close of the revolution of 1688 to the present time. Dublin, 1892.

Young 1882: R. M. Young. ‘The priory of St. Columba, Newtownards, County Down’, JRSAI, 15 (1882), 145–52.